We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gables Motor Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Paroa Hotel(Greymouth)
$96
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greymouth Seaside Top 10 Holiday Park(Greymouth)(Great Value!)
$46
$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels(Greymouth)(Great Value!)
$70
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Global Village Backpackers(Greymouth)(Great Value!)
$51
$42
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coleraine(Greymouth)
$117
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveler rating
199
153
27
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
153
27
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerthe main roadfree wifirecreation hotelone nightwell equipped kitchenettespa bathan excellent place to staylocal attractionshelpful ownerswould stay here againlarge supermarkettown centreroom was spotlessgreat restaurantnew zealandenjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 385 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed here in January 2012 when travelling round the S Island. Its situated a little outside of the main town area - but on the main road so was relatively easy to find. The owner had only taken possession 2 days before - and it was very busy - so he was a man under pressure - BUT - he was very friendly and helpful . The rooms were very comfy and clean . The only suggestion we could make was for a small bar of soap to be provided - as there was bath/shower gel provided but if this was used on the night time in the spa bath ( as we did ) there was nothing for a shower in the morning - other than that we could not fault this motel.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back and very quiet
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkBonBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gables84, Owner at Gables Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. In keeping with our commitment to the environment, we have installed dispensers for bodywash/shampoo in all our bathrooms in order to reduce the amount of plastic products we use, such as disposable plastic bottles and/or individually wrapped soaps, and to ensure that there is always sufficient for our guests' needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Conveniently located just out of town opposite the aquatic centre. I’d booked months earlier and couldn’t remember what it was like but my expectations were quite low – especially as it was just a place for one night, Greymouth being one of those places you stop at because it’s simply a midway point between 2 other places. How wrong I was – unlike many of the jaded looking places you pass as you motor round the South Island this looks to be a relatively new motel and is all the better for it even if some of the room fittings like the lighting are very poor. So it’s hardly luxurious but it has everything you need for a one night stay – plus a friendly host and a large well stocked supermarket just a 5 minute stroll away. It was quiet, comfortable and very good value and isn’t that what a motel is supposed to be.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gables84, Owner at Gables Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

Thankyou for your review. Since your stay we have conducted a lighting audit and, in keeping with our commitment to the environment, have installed energy saver eco-bulbs which provide good lighting in all the units and have also installed additional lights where necessary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Friendly service, great value for money. Room was spacious and comfortable. Owner provided good tips for local trips + great pub food at Speights Ale House. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneMonkeyNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We arrived quite early (noon) and were happy that a room was ready for us to freshen up before visiting Punakaiki. Very friendly staff who recommended a great restaurant within walking distance (Buccleugh's). They also recommended an alternative drive to Nelson, along with a hiking recommendation - we took their advice and were very happy with our choice. Room was a little small and decor a bit dated, but there was a wonderful spa tub. Standard kitchenette. Very close to large grocery store to stock up on breakfast needs and snacks.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dayhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

This is a great motor lodge. The staff were very friendly and the quality of the room was fantastic. Indeed, I've can't say I've ever experienced a better quality motor lodge anywhere in the world (and I travel a lot).
I only used Greymouth as a stop over between long driving days on the South Island but this place surprised me. Well done to the proprietor and staff for putting together such a great place.
That being said however, it is still in Greymouth (which is not worth visiting even if you are a fan of Monteiths beer/cider) and the area that the motor lodge is in is quite grim. The next motor lodge along (the Aachen Motor Lodge) had about 5 police cars in its car park which seemed to be crime related (just a bit).
All of that aside, however, this is a great place to drop anchor on your way around the stunning South Island - highly recommended

Room Tip: All rooms are good. I had the big suite on the end (room 12) and loved it.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gables84, Owner at Gables Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

Thank you for your comments and we hope that the rest of your holiday went well. The police cars were at the Aachen Motor Lodge because police staff stay there when conducting traffic campaigns on the West Coast. Greymouth has one of the lowest crime rates in New Zealand, so there is certainly no cause for concern.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews