We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy little motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apostles View Motel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Sydney
Level Contributor
167 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Comfy little motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on a stop over from Christchurch to Fox and got there quite late. It's a few minutes drive north of the town centre and on the main highway but we had no issues with noise.

When we arrived the lady was lovely and upgraded us from a studio to a one bedroom for nothing, because it was quiet. This was a really nice surprise and the room was great. It had a queen and single bed, an old style spa in the bathroom and an oven and cooktop, plus of course a separate lounge and dining space. It was really very good, particularly as we had only paid $88 for the studio. Overall the place was great, the owner was lovely and it was fine for a stopover. We couldn't have been happier.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sall13h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    31
    15
    0
    7
See reviews for
21
50
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed just for 1 night,but wish we could have stayed more..The studio given to us was spotlessly clean,neat and looked fab. The kitchen was well stocked with all kinds of bowls, cutlery and everything was really clean, not a spot anywhere. The motel is 5 mins from the city and right on the highway, so u can hear the speeding cars at night and I was a little worried about safety, as there are no gates/doors leading to the motel, anyone can drive right into it.
All the furniture were brand new, beds were really comfortable and the owner is also very nice and helpful.
If you are staying at greymouth and want to relax a little, in a small homely atmosphere, even for a night,this is definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tilly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

I stayed here for two nights and was impressed with my stay. My apartment had separate bedroom, lounge, kitchen and bathroom. All the furniture was new. The kitchen was spotless and sparkly. Owner very friendly and helpful. Only three minutes drive to Greymouth where I had dinner rather than messing up the lovely kitchen!
Visited Punakaiki, Greymouth, Shantytown and Hokitika using Apostles View as my base. I recommend this motel to other travellers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiGirlOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

nice room with great heater,friendly staff,nice location,perfect!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Clean good value motel 2km out from Greymouth CBD. A bit in no-mans land really. Day-time road noise not good but traffic not so bad from late evening anyway so slept fine. Punakaiki or Hokotika areas would be better locations to stay. Shanty-town and Garth Wilson Jade Gallery on the way to Shanty-town are must do stops.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverfoxr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

A large sign for the Apostles View Motel greeted us at the highway. When we saw our place, we were amazed. It had large rooms compared to most places that cost more. The kitchen was well equipped, and there were windows everywhere to let light in. The eels in the nearby creek were quite the entertainment. And the host was so friendly and knowledgeble. Thank you for making that part of our trip so wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marge K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

we stayed here for one night on our road trip round the south island. we had been travelling several hours and were pleasently surprised to be upgraded to a two bedroom suite when the hotel owner discovered there was three of us.

fab location if you are on the road - it is out of town however if you wanted to go out for food or get drinks.

The rooms were lovely, everything you coul possibily need or want was provided. Electric blankets on every bed, sky tv, a fantasticly stocked kitchen.

Would reccommend!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
2.0 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
5.5 mi away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#5 of 20 in Greymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.8 mi away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apostles View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apostles View Motel

Property: Apostles View Motel
Address: 296b SH 6 | Coal Creek, Greymouth, New Zealand (Formerly Willowbank Pacifica Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Apostles View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing