We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful meal!”
Review of Olly's Restaurant - CLOSED

Olly's Restaurant
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My partner and I enjoyed an excellent meal at Olly's last Saturday night. Meals are quite big, superbly cooked and presented. We had to take the leftovers home!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barb79b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    35
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place in unexpected location”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The food was tasty and the service was great. The meals wee generous in size and there was a grey wine list selection

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a meal”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Had the pleasure of dining at Olly's where we both had The Seafood Platter. Fabulous meal, melt in your mouth fish, scallops, salmon kebab and the most delicious crayfish. Meal served with yummy potato chips & side salad. Would recommend to everyone, friendly staff, good coffee. Can't imagine finding anywhere better in Greymouth, not what you expect to find in very popular local pub. One of those amazing meals you always remember.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“One of Greymouth's most unusual attractions”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

You've really got to wonder who ever thought of this - put a really nice restaurant together, but just for a challenge, hide it behind the bar in a very "local" pub on the West Coast.

Yip, everyone will check you out as you walk through the bar to the restaurant, but that's just the West Coast for you.

The food is wonderful, served by clearly local staff. A faultless dining experience, which is really unexpected given the location.

Why they don't knock a separate entrance through one of the walls to avoid the bar is beyond me.

We'll be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NickLanigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChCh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Food and Service and Incredible value for money”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Early June.

As they say, walk thru the betting shop, past the pokies (and bar full of leery old men) and you will find this amazing restaurant which must rate as one of the best kept secrets on the West Coast. My wife had the Seafood Platter which included half a crayfish plus Snapper plus oysters and heaps more served with Tempura vegetables and served with an Asian inspired sauce. This cost $36 and was cooked to perfection.

Compare that to the overpriced mediocre "Seafood Platter" that you can find in almost every restaurant in Kaikoura and once you tatse this one you will weep!

I had Fish and Chips expecting something simple and basic. Instead I got 4 pieces of fish so light and delicious you'd think they caught them from the very air itself.

There were 2 young waitresses and whilst we were served by one both of them checked that out food was cooked correctly and asked if we wanted drinks without being superficially solicitous and in your face like so many other places. Whoever trained those two waitresses should take that to the industry as a whole.

If this review seems over the top it only reflects how impressed we were with the food, the service and the restaurant itself. We got there by reading these reviews and we saw other tourists there so these reviews really work.

Thank for a memorable meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elvisbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olly's Restaurant also viewed

Greymouth, West Coast Region
Greymouth, West Coast Region
 
Greymouth, West Coast Region
Greymouth, West Coast Region
 
Greymouth, West Coast Region
Greymouth, West Coast Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing