We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the top hostels in the world.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Global Village Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I can say with absolute certainty that this is the BEST hostel I have ever been. I can't honestly think of something bad about it, except that I couldn't take it with me so I could sleep there every night for the rest of my trip. From the outside it doesn't look like much, but when you enter it is like the hidden gem in the desert. It is truly an oasis for travelers, it is clean but colorful, relaxed but intellectual. You have everything you need and everything is well organized in your room the bathroom and the kitchen. Like that was not enough for the price you pay, you also get FREE bikes and kayaks. It has its own spa, sauna and fitness room. In all the hostels that I have been in different countries and continents this is simply the best. If your are in NZ south island west cost, staying a night here should be pat of your itinerary.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlfredoAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 221 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

One of my favorite hostels on the west coast.

It's all very comfortable, the dorm room was nice and spacious and the beds were comfortable.

The free kayak and bike hire was brilliant, I spent an hour or so floating around in the harbour watching the sunset with a few friends and a couple of beers.

My only request to the management, please turn off the music in the social area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoBeachForMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I are not really the backpacker type but have been staying in hostels whilst travelling up the West Coast. I don't often review places but this hostel is truly excellent and I want to recommend it to others, particularly other non-typical backpackers. We stayed in a double room it was big, clean & had a really comfortable bed. We did not have an en suite but the communal bathrooms (girls one and a boys one) were really nice and the showers powerful. The manager was friendly & helpful. The facilities were amazing, a gym, a hot tub, kayaks, bikes, a movie room. The kitchen had more utensils than I have at home and it was never too busy. The only thing I could fault is Greymouth itself, it's not all that great on a rainy Sunday! I would definitely recommend this hostel, especially to those who are a bit apprehensive about staying in a backpackers, I guarantee this accommodation is better than most hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This place is colorful, eclectic, vibrant, and welcoming. It's like Disney-does-Bohemian, where the place looks like a hippie hangout run by clean-cut "cast members." Each room has its own character, furnished with objets d'art from all over the world. Simon the host remembers your name and logs everyone in on a blackboard in the lounge in case guests want to socialize. There are patios here and there, a generous-sized kitchen with beautiful, bright-colored clay dishes, and well-maintained bathrooms. The whole place has a feeling of environmental awareness and community, where everything is recycled and diversity is celebrated. It's a short drive or ride on one of their free bikes to see the sun set over the ocean, and Simon will tell you exactly what time it sets each day. He'll also sell you milk if you need some for your morning cereal! I would have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Since each room is so individual, ask to see all the rooms that are available before choosing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camptalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Two of us stayed here and were given a room with our own veranda. A bonus. The room was cool.The communal kitchen was spotless and super clean. The lounge was massive and filled with artefacts from Africa. The entire place was so comfortable that we did not venture out. Shared showers and tolets great (men and woman separate).

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enquiries661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Guy on reception was lovely Simon I think. Hostel is full of character with lovely decorations and ornaments from around the world. Now I almost gave it 3/5 purely for the fact that the duvet covers do not get changed after each guest this made me feel very uncomfortable as cleanliness is a huge thing for me. There is a sign on the back of the door asking you to strip your bed except for the duvet cover. I also saw the room next door the next day get made up with new sheets but the same duvet cover as was used for previous guests. It takes two seconds to take off and should be washed after every use. Do you want to pull a duvet over you which a smelly guest has sat on naked for all you know? No thank you! The friendliness on reception and the effort someone has put into decorating this place made me still give it a four.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mzteeree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed only one night at this hostel but if we had the time we would have stayed longer. The staff was really friendly. The kitchen was well equiped and cleaner than at home ;-) The private room was big and beautifully decorated. The bathrooms were also perfect. Do not hesitate book :-)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faby182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
196 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 20 in Greymouth
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Apostles View Motel
Apostles View Motel
#12 of 20 in Greymouth
97 reviews
4.0 mi away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Greymouth
137 reviews
0.9 mi away
Greymouth Seaside Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Global Village Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Village Backpackers

Address: 42-54 Cowper Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Greymouth
Price Range: $22 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Global Village Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Global Village Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing