We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Excellent Inexpensive Accommodation Option for Greymouth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alpine Rose Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Alpine Rose Motel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Greymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“An Excellent Inexpensive Accommodation Option for Greymouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We rarely stay in Motels.

The husband and wife who run this motel were very friendly and obliging to us.

The room was spotless and we felt very comfortable.

How do you rate a place like this? I am not sure, but you know what, at the price you have to give it a 5.

Would we stay here again? No worries.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterDAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    38
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
47
92
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

On the main road into town. We only stayed here for one night, but we found it to be very quiet with a good size room that was very neat and tidy and the owners were very welcoming. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Booked this place last minute and was pleasantly surprised with how good it was. Rooms are massive, wifi works perfectly (a rarity these days without having to pay extra) and the tv had all the movie channels included on it. The owners were very friendly and helpful with advice as to stop over stops on our way down to the glaciers and their dog bluey was absolutely gorgeous. Only negative was that it was a little out of the way in terms of location but having a car this didn't really bother us. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We have been travelling in Australia and New Zealand for five weeks and this motel is the best so far. We were a bit unwell after some long drives and back to back sightseeing and the owners could not have been more helpful. Our chalet had a wonderful spa bath, very modern and clean fittings, sky tv and excellent wifi - very unusual in NZ in our experience. As though they had not done enough, the owner gave us a lift to the station. Highly recommended

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank freeequenttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

I usually stay at another motel on High Street, but this time they were full and I decided to stay at Alpine Rose. The room was clean and tidy and well back from the road. As a company rep I usually have a lot of reports to do in the evenings and good internet access is a must. The connect here kept cutting out and as I was toward the back of the complex, the reception was really poor. I had to virtually sit at the door with it open in order to get my work complete. For this reason I have scored the motel low and hope that the new owners invest in better aerials/repeaters so the connection is stable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwikid1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We arrived late from our flight and the owners were waiting for us. They provided excellent local advice about what to see and where to go as well as where to eat. The room was spacious, very clean and most importantly the bed that I considered to be small ( we sleep in a king bed), was very comfortable and the pillows were plentiful and most comfortable for sleeping. We ordered continental breakfast which was well presented - although we had a laugh about the small amount of marmite that was delivered - and tasty. The owners brought our breakfast in each morning and always welcomed us with pleasant conversation. We would definitely stay there again and we highly recommend this venue if you are passing through Greymouth.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Only stayed one night but if we came back I wouldn't stay anywhere else. The hosts are friendly and extremely helpful. They are aware that greymouth is a stopover place for people on their way to the glaciers and help with directions and suggestions. The studio room was large, clean and very comfortable with a king size bed. Great stay!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank debstagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
3.6 mi away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#6 of 21 in Greymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 21 in Greymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ashley Hotel
The Ashley Hotel
#17 of 21 in Greymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 21 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 21 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alpine Rose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alpine Rose Motel

Property: The Alpine Rose Motel
Address: 139 High Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Alpine Rose Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpine Rose is situated on the main highway (SH73) south to the Glaciers and the Haast Pass. We are just 1.5 kilometres from the town centre and two minutes from the hospital, medical centre, supermarket Aquatic Centre, Hockey Turf and service station. We offer 12 top quality, ground floor, one and two bedrooms apartments and also studio units. All have either Queen or Super King size beds, cooking facilities, and several also come with spa baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Alpine Rose Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing