We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Economical”
Review of The Ashley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ashley Hotel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Florida, USA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Clean and Economical”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed on evening here on our tour of the south island. It allowed us limited time to explore. Check-in was quick and the staff was helpful in directing us to "don't miss" attractions in the local area. Room was clean and comfortable. We would stay there again.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chawinflut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    69
    80
    40
    16
See reviews for
45
112
13
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We turned up on spec as a 'father and daughter' combo and had a great Motel room. The hotel was convenient and just off the main road. The pool was not functional and the gym closed however we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rendomorph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in one of their "Hotel Style" rooms for just one night. The rooms were more than what you would expect for the price paid, clean ,  quiet and a refit obviously wasn't a million years ago. The staff on the front desk were very welcoming so overall a pretty good place to stay. Only thing to take note of is the hotel is a short drive from town so more than likely need a car to stay here. Would certainly stay here again.  

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZer_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
231 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

1st the drive from hanmer springs to greymouth is simply superb. Was awestruck by the beauty of this small town. the hotel is situated near to the main cirty, just 5 minutes max. train station is located near by. the swimming pool was dirty and out of service. gym to was the same. 1 thing good was this hotel provided us 2 hours wifi free. good and comfortable stay all in all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saikiran9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Quality Manager for Williams Hotels at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
I'm very pleased that you enjoyed the drive to Greymouth and I agree that there is some spectacular scenery on the way.

I am sorry that our pool or gym did not meet your expectations. Our pool is unheated but is not out of service nor has it been recently. It is tested for correct chlorination levels daily as is our spa. The gym is also cleaned several times a week by our housekeeping team. In the past we have had problems with birds in the pool area. Please be assured that I will investigate this immediately and get the area cleaned if there is any evidence of this.

I'm very glad to hear that overall your stay with us was good and that you were very comfortable. Thank you for staying with us and your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

On the way out of town so having a car will help. Good sized room, and bathroom. Clean and tidy and great value for the money, stayed in a motel unit but they also have hotel rooms. Has a resturant for meals and a swimming pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgo985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Quality Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Hi jhp_1989,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Cleanliness is very important to us so we appreciate that you recognized the attention that we give this at our Ashley Hotel property. I agree that the hotel offers great value accommodation in both hotel rooms and motel units - we have an accommodation option for every kind of traveller.

Thanks again for your comments. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Nice enough. Basic comfortable room close to town. Bathroom was a little cold and the shower was oddly high off the ground but apart from that it was fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhp_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Quality Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We strive to offer clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation so we are very pleased that you agree. Thanks for staying with us.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Very good value for money - super modern hotel located close to Greymouth city centre and train station (that's if you have a car!). Don't be surprised to see a cemetery on the other side of the street either! This hotel has free wifi though and really makes u feel like you're in a modern hotel in a city. Great lobby and restaurants or a bar in the hotel. Rooms weren't bad either! Recommend if you want good value for money and if location doesn't bother you - it's close to activities on the edge of Greymouth town centre (small town!)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbourn-travel-bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
1.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
3.1 mi away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#5 of 20 in Greymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashley Hotel

Property: The Ashley Hotel
Address: 74 Tasman Street, Greymouth 7840, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ashley Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashley Hotel offers a wide range of rooms types from standard hotel/motel rooms to one & two bedroom family units. Dine in our Ala Carte Restaurant, relax with a drink in our house bar, or talk a leisurely walk along the beach which is only a 5 minute walk from our door. Our friendly staff look forward to offering you superior West Coast Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Hotel Greymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing