We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of The Ashley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ashley Hotel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in one of their "Hotel Style" rooms for just one night. The rooms were more than what you would expect for the price paid, clean ,  quiet and a refit obviously wasn't a million years ago. The staff on the front desk were very welcoming so overall a pretty good place to stay. Only thing to take note of is the hotel is a short drive from town so more than likely need a car to stay here. Would certainly stay here again.  

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZer_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 248 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

1st the drive from hanmer springs to greymouth is simply superb. Was awestruck by the beauty of this small town. the hotel is situated near to the main cirty, just 5 minutes max. train station is located near by. the swimming pool was dirty and out of service. gym to was the same. 1 thing good was this hotel provided us 2 hours wifi free. good and comfortable stay all in all.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saikiran9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Quality Manager for Williams Hotels at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

I'm very pleased that you enjoyed the drive to Greymouth and I agree that there is some spectacular scenery on the way.

I am sorry that our pool or gym did not meet your expectations. Our pool is unheated but is not out of service nor has it been recently. It is tested for correct chlorination levels daily as is our spa. The gym is also cleaned several times a week by our housekeeping team. In the past we have had problems with birds in the pool area. Please be assured that I will investigate this immediately and get the area cleaned if there is any evidence of this.

I'm very glad to hear that overall your stay with us was good and that you were very comfortable. Thank you for staying with us and your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

On the way out of town so having a car will help. Good sized room, and bathroom. Clean and tidy and great value for the money, stayed in a motel unit but they also have hotel rooms. Has a resturant for meals and a swimming pool.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letsgo985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Quality Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Hi jhp_1989,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Cleanliness is very important to us so we appreciate that you recognized the attention that we give this at our Ashley Hotel property. I agree that the hotel offers great value accommodation in both hotel rooms and motel units - we have an accommodation option for every kind of traveller.

Thanks again for your comments. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Nice enough. Basic comfortable room close to town. Bathroom was a little cold and the shower was oddly high off the ground but apart from that it was fine.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhp_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Quality Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We strive to offer clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation so we are very pleased that you agree. Thanks for staying with us.

Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Very good value for money - super modern hotel located close to Greymouth city centre and train station (that's if you have a car!). Don't be surprised to see a cemetery on the other side of the street either! This hotel has free wifi though and really makes u feel like you're in a modern hotel in a city. Great lobby and restaurants or a bar in the hotel. Rooms weren't bad either! Recommend if you want good value for money and if location doesn't bother you - it's close to activities on the edge of Greymouth town centre (small town!)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melbourn-travel-bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Miles out of town for a start - no possibility of walking, you have to drive. Then there's the rooms... Pokey and shabby, despite an apparent recent makeover. The bathroom was even worse - like some run-down hostel bathroom with hardly room to swing a cat. Very disappointing, would not stay again. Nice helpful staff though.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastSussexToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Hotel or motel? This is definitely a motel stuck in the 1960's! After checking in we drove around Greymouth looking for something better but most accommodation seems to be oldish!

The rooms are very dated, with the headboard and couch being from this century and shower being possibly 10-years old. They have tried to make the beds look new with throws over the end however are very soft and I think a few years old.

TV's are the old square type, not a major but keep with the dated interior. I presume as a working town: mining etc, they have high blue collar and traveling sales person business which doesn't mind the older type accommodations...

Our room had a faulty heater which switched on for 5-minutes and turned off... We called reception to advise of the fault and the said they would send someone over. We waited 1-hour then went out and returned. Still the faulty heater, worked for 5-minutes and turned off, wiggling the wire got it to work again for a short while! We called reception again after sitting in the cold and getting annoyed and were told that they didn't have any replacements and that the heater would turn back on shortly... I think the girl was trying to explain it was on thermostat, no it wasn't - it was faulty.

My partner went to reception to raise the issue in person. Amy on the desk was not very helpful so we advised if the fault wasn't fixed, we'd like to check out immediately - she sent Jacob to the room, who remedied the issue with a replacement heater! Only 10-minutes earlier I was told they didn't have any spares on the phone!

Ok, so we have a new heater - great! Shortly afterwards I was outside and noticed Jacob taking another heater to the room next door and apologising for their heater problem, trying to explain the 'thermostat' excuse again, that guest didn't accept that either and they we offered a small fan heater. Thank goodness we got in first as this seems like a common occurrence!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank kiwilovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
1.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
478 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
195 reviews
3.1 mi away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Greymouth
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Apostles View Motel
Apostles View Motel
#12 of 20 in Greymouth
97 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 20 in Greymouth
367 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 20 in Greymouth
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashley Hotel

Address: 74 Tasman Street, Greymouth 7840, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Price Range: $91 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ashley Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashley Hotel offers a wide range of rooms types from standard hotel/motel rooms to one & two bedroom family units. Dine in our Ala Carte Restaurant, relax with a drink in our house bar, or talk a leisurely walk along the beach which is only a 5 minute walk from our door. Our friendly staff look forward to offering you superior West Coast Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Hotel Greymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing