We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Noah's Ark Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Tidy well positioned backpackers, close to town... YHA hostel around the corner. None of the rooms have ensuites & the panda room was outside... with the toilet inside. Wifi has poor signal strength. Double room NZ $66 a night.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevehe159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 210 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2011

I ended up in this hostel a little bit by chance and was really happy to stay there.

Noah's Ark is a cute backpacker with great rooms, lots of showers (all clean) in a nice scenery of painted animals all around.

The backpacker was not full so I was put in a room (5 people dorm) alone, which was great as I enjoyed a wonderful rest without any disturbance during my stay.

I don't really like dogs but Beth is really discret, not the kind of dog who jump all around, and never tried to enter the room or the common area.

The kitchen is small but cute and there is a big dining room/lounge with a very enjoyable fire place.

And, if there is often nobody at the reception desk (unless you ring them with the phone provided), they are happy to help you when you ask them : thanks again for the drop at the train station !

I recommand this nice and chilled out backpacker, and the awfully difficult puzzles ;)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amyonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed here for one night and would have loved to stay longer! As soon as you walk through the door it is cozy and has more atmosphere than a lot of hostels. The person who checked us in was friendly and helpful.
We stayed in a dorm that had a Penguin theme and had paintings of the cute creatures all over the walls. The 5 bed dorm was really spacious, although it would have been good if it had lockers. The kitchen is very clean and has spices that you can use. The tv lounge is nice and cozy, and they have another big room for dining and relaxing.
The toilets and showers were clean. It was a quiet hostel that had lots of character, we will definitely stay here again if we come back to Greymouth. It’s a few minutes walk to the centre of town and just under 10 minutes walk to the train station.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stayed here for one night. I was a bit upset upon entering to see a large furry dog walking around the building and in some of the guest rooms as I am allergic to dogs. My husband and I booked a private room so of course I did not let the dog in our room which was okay.
My husband went outside to the bonfire and tried to get back in the door 20 minutes after "door locking time". He rang the bell to get back in and the manager was quite shirty with him - shaking his finger at him. So we did not receive the best service, but got a good night sleep. the linen was not too clean - there were hairs on our pillows and as part of the stay we had to strip the sheets in the morning and put them in the laundry ourselves.
The decorations of the rooms are hilarious by the way.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Behmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Lovely place to stay, clean with comfortable beds and very close to town. Was a bit worried about the Greymouth chill factor in July and staying in a big old house, but the only thing cool about it was the beautiful leadlights, rimu features and the lively paint jobs. Two fires were pumping out the heat and the bedrooms had oil column heaters in them. Plus there was free breakfast and 30 minutes of internet.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
Thank Dreamtime111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Noah's Ark is an old house turned backpackers, with animal themed rooms. I got the Giraffe Room for the night. The giraffe murals on the walls were lovely. The giraffe room was large, so the small heater was inadequate. The baths were modern and clean. Free wi-fi available for 50MB and breakfast on the house. How great is that!! I love the resident golden retriever, Bez!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glyn0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in May 2011. We got the 4th night for free, always a bonus. Kirsty and Charlie were great hosts who made us feel very welcome, and even gave us both 30mins free internet time on arrival. All the rooms are themed from Noahs Ark so we stayed in the Zebra room, a really great idea. The rooms were very clean , and towels were provided. The kitchen was huge so plenty of room for everyone to cook their meals whenever the need arose. They have a well stocked video / DVD library and a comfortable TV room. Would definately recommend this hostel to a friend and would stay again if I ever found myself in Greymouth in the future. Perfect for travellers of all ages. A really great place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimi20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Global Village Backpackers
Global Village Backpackers
#2 of 13 in Greymouth
230 reviews
1.8 mi away
Greymouth Seaside Top 10 Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Duke Hostel
Duke Hostel
#6 of 13 in Greymouth
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
#16 of 19 in Greymouth
16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#17 of 19 in Greymouth
516 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 19 in Greymouth
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noah's Ark Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noah's Ark Backpackers

Address: 16 Chapel Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Greymouth
Price Range: $45 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Noah's Ark Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noah's Ark provides warm and welcoming quality budget accommodation in a beautiful heritage building, just 100m from Greymouth town centre! Receive complementary unlimited high speed Internet - so it's easy to keep in touch with family and friends or plan your trip ahead. (Use WiFi or our hostel PCs). From May to September we provide more competitive rates, and if you wish to stay longer we're making it easier by discounting your fourth night! (Conditions apply). While enjoying your stay at Noah's Ark, you can relax in our luxurious spa pool, take in the West Coast sunset from our balcony, or have a BBQ and then laze in the hammocks in our large garden. As your hosts, we pride ourselves on providing a friendly and helpful service. Our hostel is also a home to 'Cosmo' a very friendly dog and 'Jessie' the resident cat. To explore the area, we have free bikes for you to enjoy a cycle along the coast or to Point Elizabeth scenic walkway. Or we can direct you to the local bush walks and nearby, beaches and advise you about the various adventure activities on offer such as surfing, quad biking, rafting or a trip to the early settlers village Shantytown. We are fortunate to be located at the Gateway to the West Coast and larger tourist attractions such as Punakaiki and Lake Brunner,and the Wilderness Trail. There is so much to see and do. Noah's Ark was originally a monastery. It now offers characterful spacious private and shared rooms that are warm and comfortable, with self-controlled heaters, clean linen, duvets and spare blankets. The rooms are beautifully decorated with fun animal themes - you can choose from tigers, penguins, leopards and more. To keep you warm and cosy on cooler days we have a large heat pump and log burner. In the lounge we have a piano, guitar, cd collection, book swap and lots of games. There is a separate TV room with a big screen and comfy sofas and we have a collection of over 200 movies for you to choose from. Noah's Ark has a clean & fully equipped kitchen and are tea, coffee, sugar and spices are provided free for your convenience. We are located conveniently in a side street so it's quiet to relax but also only s short walk to the supermarket, train station and bus stops (5-7min). Cafe's and the local shops are also worth a visit as well as the prestigious Green stone collection at the local Art Gallery. If you are wanting a homely, friendly atmosphere, great value and a warm welcome come to Noah's Ark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Noah's Ark Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing