We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern exterior but old, outdated rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Modern exterior but old, outdated rooms”
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

The exterior of the hotel must have been newly renovated. It looks very new and modern. However the rooms are the complete opposite. We saw 2 small spiders crawling on our bed while resting. The location is very good - just a turn away from the train station and supermarket. Breakfast was average but the waitress said there was no more congee. Why is there no top up since it's a buffet !? The receptionist was kind enough to give us another free token when we told her we didn't know how to use the dryer and hence our clothes were not dry. Very kind of her!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank aqid710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    112
    158
    103
    58
See reviews for
63
241
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel offers great variety in rooms. You pay for what you get. If you just need a bed for the night or if you are intending to stay for a few days as I did. I had a superior room including a full buffet hot / cold breakfast. My room was very comfortable, it had coffee and tea making facilities. A rather handy table and chair to relax and write postcards. A vanity desk with a large mirror ideal for your makeup. the bathroom was very clean and modern. I was on the 5th floor and had a view looking up the Greymouth river into the valley , very picturesque. The staff were so friendly and very helpful. I had room service which was prompt and of high quality food. On the matter of food, I believe there Scrambled Eggs on the buffet breakfast to be the best I have ever eaten, made from fresh eggs. The location of this hotel is so good, you only have a short stroll to the shops, railway station and the river. Im looking forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Superior room in the tower, if you can afford this or Great value for a cheaper room just to crash o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Room very comfortable . A sliding door in the bathroom will work better.
The spare ribs were tasty but very tough.
Scramble eggs were watery.
The staff were all very friendly and helpfull.
I think that the Internet in the room was a total a total rip off.
Could not have the balcony door open for too long as there was a noise coming from a water reservoir bellow the balcony

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denniskZ9148YM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsgateGreymouth, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your comments regarding the restaurant will be passed onto our chef. We have 20 minutes of WiFi free in the hotel lobby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed for a night in this hotel. Reception area looks ok. Car park was small. The room was old and dated. Only the toilet looked renovated but very small and had a weird smell even though we opened the small window and balcony door (very old style) next to it to air the room. There were chips on the wall and crack on the ceiling. Low ceiling with sprinklers hanging above the beds. This is an old town and most centrally located accommodation looks old. Suggest that you stay slightly out of town if you drive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLandT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsgateGreymouth, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are greatfull for all comment and do use it to try and improve our performance. We are not the most modern hotel, but do try to offer great value with a room priced for all budgets that is clean and comfortable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Greymouth hotels

Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel had everything that we needed and was a great price but it is very old and tired. Our room was musty and very out dated. The rooms were noisy and the bed was uncomfortable.

Had dinner in the restaurant and it was nice food for a reasonable price.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KellHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarina, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed in Greymouth for two nights, we arrived late afternoon and after lookibg at prices on tripadvisor we went to book a room. The prices were not recent but the lady at the front desk upgraded us to be inside the building. We had the same price for each night as well as giving us a complimentary breakfast. She was more than helpful, although the rooms were outdated and the tv made a high pitch sound when running. The service and food that we recieved made up for it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel is in a great location in the centre of Greymouth. Close to cafe's, restaurants, & shops. We felt we had great value for money.The staff were helpful and friendly. Would have been nice to have been asked for help with luggage as initially we were assigned the overflow carpark for our vehicle. My only disappointment was the eggs at breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
1.9 mi away
The Ashley Hotel
The Ashley Hotel
#17 of 20 in Greymouth
239 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
183 reviews
4.9 mi away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#5 of 20 in Greymouth
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 20 in Greymouth
366 reviews
4.5 mi away
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
#16 of 20 in Greymouth
14 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 20 in Greymouth
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Address: 32 Mawhera Quay, Greymouth 7801, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the centre of Greymouth, The Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth is perfectly located for easy access to the West Coast's spectacular scenic attractions. Only 300 metres from the Tranz Alpine train station and Intercity bus terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greymouth Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing