We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Lower Hutt
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel is in a great location in the centre of Greymouth. Close to cafe's, restaurants, & shops. We felt we had great value for money.The staff were helpful and friendly. Would have been nice to have been asked for help with luggage as initially we were assigned the overflow carpark for our vehicle. My only disappointment was the eggs at breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    111
    157
    103
    58
See reviews for
63
241
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
207 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel was handy for what we were doing. Whilst tired and dated the rooms are more than adequate for an overnight stay. The Bar is warm, comfortable and the barman cheerful and helpful. Wish we could say the same about the breakfast restaurant which is dinghy, the breakfast adequate and the waitress unfriendly. Overall adequate but certainly not special

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Despite a fairly glamorous facade, this motel is terribly tired and dated. Once past reception, the true state of the place is evident - old and worn. On entering the accommodation section of the building, you are greeted with that musty, "used" smell. The room was fairly tight for space, but had all of the things that are required for a night's stay. As I moved the curtain back, I noticed that the white sheer material was covered in mould for the bottom eighteen inches or so. And the room smelled mouldy. The bed's sheets were thin and gave the impression that they hard been slept in before. I haven't got any hard and fast facts, but I bet that the bed had been slept in, made up and then rented out to us. All of the linen was of a poor quality. The TV was the old type - not a flat screen . The bathroom honestly looked like it was out of the 50's. As the room was pre booked and paid for ahead by our travel company there was nothing that could be done about it. I was very annoyed with the travel company and supplied them with an assessment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Greymouth hotels

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

The staff were very helpful and I am very happy with the level of service received. The day was pouring with rain with wind to match and the smiles and general cheer from the team was a ray of sunshine.

The room itself was warm and comfortable although it could have done with a good airing out as there was the dank smell of long-closed bathroom prominent. Once the windows and doors were opened this diminished somewhat.

Dinner was fair with large servings although it may be better to reduce the quantity for quality. The chicken breast pasta, for example, had so much garlic that I was left wondering if I had ordered a chicken garlic dish or a chicken carbonara dish. Breakfast was much better so I guess that the cook for the morning is better.


Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gnuthad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very handy to railway station and other Greymouth facilities. some rooms are better than others.They really do need to upgrade the TVs they are just so dated. The food in the restaurant is good but not a lot of choose from. The heaters in the rooms are good - you them going in the winter, its so cold in Greymouth in the winter

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed here for work last week. I was given a room on the top floor. While the hotel is old the room was not too tired. (I had been concerned based on other trip advisor reviews of this hotel). My room was clean and the bathroom clean and relatively modern. The room had a great view of the Grey river and mountains.
The not so good things were: the TV set was a small old box set which caused the picture to be cut off and I could not see all the words across the bottom of the screen. The mattress on one of the beds was an old spring matress which sunk way down as soon as I sat on it. So I slept on the other bed. The car park was a block away and in the horizontal rain, it was not nice to walk back to the hotel to get to my room after checking in. The breakfast was pretty bad - the scrambled eggs tasteless and probably reconstituted eggs. The bacon was inedible and the tomatoes looked and tasted like heated up tinned tomatoes. So I had a peice of toast. At least they had Marmite and not Vegemite.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the top floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had driven down from Picton, leaving the rental car and catching the Trans Alpine train the next day. Greymouth itself isn't all that interesting but the hotel was lovely. The room was spacious and we had in room service which was delicious and punctual. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and the service efficient and friendly. The hotel is old but our room was well maintained and clean.We would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bindango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
1.9 mi away
The Ashley Hotel
The Ashley Hotel
#17 of 20 in Greymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
4.5 mi away
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
#16 of 20 in Greymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#5 of 20 in Greymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.1 mi away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Address: 32 Mawhera Quay, Greymouth 7801, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the centre of Greymouth, The Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth is perfectly located for easy access to the West Coast's spectacular scenic attractions. Only 300 metres from the Tranz Alpine train station and Intercity bus terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greymouth Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing