We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Greymouth
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed overnight on our way through Greymouth. Found the room very comfortable and clean with everything we needed. Lovely buffet breakfast. Thanks to all the staff. After reading all the reviews, I have to wonder what people expect when staying at a reasonably priced hotel. What a lot of moaners.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bazsmiff0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsgateGreymouth, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your kind words will be passed on to our staff, they will appreciate them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 515 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have stayed here for my last few business trips. The staff and service are very good, but the rooms and general decor are very, very dated. 14" CRT TV?? Give me a break! I will be looking elsewhere next trip.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank DougieNZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

we stayed here 1 night asked if we had paid for breakfast and told no,on reaching home pull the booking up on computer and we had?so please check your booking before going we were up on the 6th floor on the west north computer and got no sleep,the wind whistled through the shut door to balcony and through the shut bathroom window which you could see outside through,I mentioned all this to reception and told they can not manage the wind,I said it only needed draught stop to fix it but got no response,by reading other comments looks like this hotel needs a wake up and do over,we had the funny smell outdated room old fashioned tv,did like the easy chairs to sit in which a lot of hotels don't have,it was warm,the bed was comfy and kingsize.the check in staff friendly.lovely fluffy towels

Room Tip: corner rooms have draught wind issues,also on 6th floor something bangs all night in the wind
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

To start I would rather not have given any rating points.
Decided to break the Trans Alpine rail trip with a stop over in Greymouth so only booked this hotel as it was part of a package run by Kiwi Rails Trans Alpine rail service (shame on you Kiwi Rail for not affiliating yourself with something better!).
Hotel positioned by the river and looked slightly shabby from the outside but put that down to the sea air. Reception area ok but nothing special however once we stepped out of the lift it went downhill. Odd smell and institutional feel to the corridors.
Our 'superior' double on the third floor turned out to be a standard double with the next door rooms connecting door unlocked. Very mismatched, shabby furniture with holes in the sofa arms. Smell in the corridor much worse in the room! Poor maintenance noted around the windows with catches broken off and evidence of mould and mildew. Unsavory looking kitchen area.
Bathroom very small but clean although the shampoo had clearly already been used by previous occupant.
Breakfast included in deal but we wished we had gone elsewhere. Odd looking scrambled eggs that husband who will eat anything wouldn't finish. Ditto the coffee which had an odd taste.
Couldn't wait to leave and was appalled that this is supposed to be a superior hotel in a town that has a regular supply of tourists. What a terrible memory of Greymouth we and they must be left with. All I could think of was what the Hotel Inspector would make of the place!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

A great short stay here with a warm welcome and well priced accommodation. Very comfortable room and fluffy towels - not the abrasive type usually encountered! Well presented room with service attendant's card (nice touch - thank you !)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelsonkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

First, it's worth pointing out that there are a variety of rooms available in this hotel. The room we were allocated to is one that is "not included in the 3.5 Qualmark rating" and offers reasonable accommodation "at backpacker rates." (Well, not really)

No wide-screens in this place, one of the oldest style bathrooms I have seen, and that comforting musty smell that reminds me of a bygone era. However, the beds were decked out in winter sheets and are comfortable. Only awoke about 5 times during the night as trucks drive by outside (no double glazing).

I keep coming back, but it would be lovely to see the place slightly modernized.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Organs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

while the hotel needs updating, the attitude and helpfulness of the staff really make up for what the hotel lacks, the ladies at reception are very helpful and the cleaner/ housekeeper that was on our floor had a great sense of humour and had alot of local knowledge.we had breakfast in the restaurant and it was well priced and even the manager? was friendly and helped his staff clear the tables, id have to say a nice clean friendly place to visit.

Room Tip: western side of tower block floors 3 and above have nice river and sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaddy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
1.9 mi away
The Ashley Hotel
The Ashley Hotel
#15 of 19 in Greymouth
257 reviews
4.5 mi away
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
#16 of 19 in Greymouth
16 reviews
1 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 19 in Greymouth
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Apostles View Motel
Apostles View Motel
#12 of 19 in Greymouth
103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sundowner Motel
Sundowner Motel
#6 of 19 in Greymouth
129 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 19 in Greymouth
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth

Address: 32 Mawhera Quay, Greymouth 7850, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Greymouth
Price Range: $71 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the centre of Greymouth, The Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth is perfectly located for easy access to the West Coast's spectacular scenic attractions. Only 300 metres from the Tranz Alpine train station and Intercity bus terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greymouth Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing