We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night here after doing the Tranz Alpine from Christchurch. Picked up our rental car from the train station and headed to the hotel. We could have walked the very short distance. The staff were very friendly and our room was clean and comfortable. Although a little dated still great value for money. We had a special price of $89 in June 2013. We had a lovely dinner in a small lounge near the bar and by the fire. The service was delightful.
It was a week night and not very busy. The hotel is old but we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinson72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    117
    164
    103
    58
See reviews for
65
249
19
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had 2 nights in a ground floor basic room here. Very comfortable bed, I think queen size. Table and 2 chairs, desk, television, small fridge, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, jug and tea making facilities, door to the outside, bath and shower. It was clean and warm and right in the town and very reasonably priced. We didn't eat there apart from 1 meal at a private function which was very tasty. 20 minutes of free wifi in the .lobby, but comfortable and semi private seating to use my iPad. Would certainly use again as it had everything we needed.

Room Tip: A little noisy round halls and staircases
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripMember051220151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Road, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed for a night. Check in was not a hassle. Basic amenities were provided. Strong shower head water pressure with warm water. Heater in the room were working fine, able to keep me warm. Wifi were free for 20 mins only at lobby, though. Buffet dinner were nice especially the cakes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEMINI1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

As alot of other people have said this place is a little tired. I have to say it has all the facilites you need though for a comfortable stay....Price of room is cheap, their is a restaurant, bar (with happy hour) and gym on site. Internet is available at a price.

I would guarantee its one of the better place in Greymouth and with the facilities it will be the first place i choose when i go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gotrice24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

wea arrived here after a terrible stay at a pub /motel in moana, lake brunner. however this was marginally better. clean facilites although basic. central location. friendly staff. would stay again if we had to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacey j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast NSW
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed here one night the room looked like it had been recently updated which was great however the TV needs to be updated also. Reception and public areas were of a high standard and the location made it a short walk into the town centre. WiFi was free and fast in the reception area only.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Reception staff (especially the two I encountered who were 'in training') were extremely helpful when the original room had to be changed due to a problem with accessing the stairs for two of our party. We were really impressed with the in-house restaurant meals and staff. We especially enjoyed the steak meals and the superb whitebait fritters. The chef did a superb job especially considering he had to also cater for a large tour party and their separate meal requirements at the same time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
1.3 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
188 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ashley Hotel
The Ashley Hotel
#17 of 20 in Greymouth
243 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 20 in Greymouth
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apostles View Motel
Apostles View Motel
#12 of 20 in Greymouth
95 reviews
4.9 mi away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Greymouth
132 reviews
1.1 mi away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 20 in Greymouth
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Address: 32 Mawhera Quay, Greymouth 7801, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the centre of Greymouth, The Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth is perfectly located for easy access to the West Coast's spectacular scenic attractions. Only 300 metres from the Tranz Alpine train station and Intercity bus terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greymouth Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing