We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just a stop over”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night before heading down south and our expectations were not particularly great for this hotel as I had heard that it was in need of some TLC . Yes the hotel was tired but definitely clean and tidy. Our room was huge and the bed very comfortable, but was missing a bedside cabinet and the overhead bed lights were not working. It was such a horrible day we decided to stay in and have a bar meal that night which was so big that it should of been served in the restaraunt but very tasty. All in all the hotel was adequate for our needs, central to the town, staff were very friendly and helpful so dont really have any complaints.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMitchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    114
    163
    103
    58
See reviews for
64
247
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kyle of Lochalsh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel and accommodation were very adequate, but had no feel of being anything special or out of the ordinary. The staff were helpful and welcoming. The value was average. Our room only had one bedside table, which was a bit of a nuisance, and the en-suite bathroom was clean and tidy, but had seen better days. There was the sound of running water all the time, which was a bit of a nuisance. Wi-Fi was avialable for 20 minutes per day on a complimentary basis, and if you needed more time you had to pay. As many B&Bs and motels offer unlimited Wi-Fi free nowadays, I cannot understand why some hotels cannot so the same in this day and age. Our room had no view, which was disappointing. Breakfast was charged extra, and we had the continental breakfast, which once again was adequate, but nothing special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
2 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here for two nights over a long weekend. Hotel is older but the rooms are tidy and bathrooms have had recent renovation. Bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept on in a hotel. Buffet breakfast is good, selection of cerals or fully cooked avialaiable. Good central location town. Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomjacksdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and i were reccommended this hotel by friends of ours so i called to enquire about a room for myself my husband our son and baby, the woman on reception was great so helpful and friendly she said that she could upgrade our room for a slightly higher price. Arrived at hotel went to our room which was absolutely terrible, the plaster from the ceiling was hanging down in more than one place, which looked like it would fall off at any time, there was a big black stain on the roof above the head of bed, also the shower leaked water all over the floor. Wasn't very happy with room at all for the price we paid. Staff were lovely though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mojo265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Greymouth hotels

Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was a quick stop on our way to another city but it was just not quick enough. The front desk and bar staff was very nice and seemed to really want to be there. Once we got into our room, we were beyond disgusted. The bathroom was dirty, the window would not shut and it smelled awful. We survived that night and woke up and went to breakfast which was delayed because I am guess the food was late - 30 minutes! Guests were just sitting outside the doors waiting. Once we got to breakfast, we sat down and there things floating in the coffee. We had just had enough. We left and will not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BELH334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

When we first arrived, the room we were issued was draughty, shabby and dark with a window that didn't shut properly and a lot of street noise. When I went to reception and pointed it out, we were cheerfully given a much better room (707) - quiet, clean, quite spacious and with a modern bathroom. The decor was pretty tired, but I thought it was reasonably good value for the price. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food, but the staff were all friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you don't like the room you're given, they quite probably have a better one at the same p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marnie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I had stayed here before for a conference (in the tower block) and thought it was OK for a second visit with the husband.

We booked a special deal that included breakfast ($109 a night). Well obviously cheap deals = cheap rooms.

We were in room 107 (near the bar and restaurant) and it was small and dreary (needed the lights on even though it was sunny outside). There was no decor - pictures or anything and it looked dated and grubby. The bed was a tiny double and I am only 5ft2 but my feet were hanging over the end. It was so soft and roll together was an issue.

There was no soundproofing between rooms so we could hear people using the toilet next door and the elderly (near deaf) couple next doors conversations at 5.30am rather clearly kept us awake. Complaining didn't help - we were told they were fully booked.

The bathroom wasn't very clean, there was no extractor fans and the tiny windows didn't seem to open so after a shower you couldn't see a thing for a while. The shower was either boiling hot or stone cold - so we ended up getting a little burnt as the mixer didn't seem to work. I tried having a bath but the rusty dirt coming out of the tap made the water a very interesting colour.

Security not so great as windows that were partially stuck open couldn't be closed and the key tags had room numbers and hotel name on them so not great if they were lost.

The buffet breakfast that was included was averageand not really worth the price if you paid for it seperately. The selection wasn't great for the price ie only white and brown toast - no fruit toast or grainy bread; 4 cereals and a couple of types of fruit and yoghurt, basic hot selection such as scrambled eggs, baked beans, sausages, bacon, hashbrowns and tomatoes. Breakfast was from 7am to 10am and we went at 8.00 and had to scrape the bottom of some dishes - it didn't appear that they were replenished regularly.


If you want budget - then there are probably nicer places for less. Ask to see what room you will be in before making a booking. We couldn't cope with a second night (even though we were booked for 2) so packed up and left after 1 night. This was after complaining about the conditions but no refund was offerred.

Room Tip: ask for tower rooms as these appear to be the best. Avoid 101 - 108 and 201 - 208 which are the sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsgateGreymouth, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Elisa D, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are thankful for all comments and use these to monitor our performance, We have a room and a package that will suit most tastes and budgets, and do encourage our guests to upgrade to a room type that they will be more comfortable in. In your case it was unfortunate that when you advised reception that you were unhappy with your room, it was late in the afternoon and because the hotel was full there were no alternatives available, I apologise for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
1.3 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
186 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ashley Hotel
The Ashley Hotel
#17 of 20 in Greymouth
241 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 20 in Greymouth
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#5 of 20 in Greymouth
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apostles View Motel
Apostles View Motel
#14 of 20 in Greymouth
94 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 20 in Greymouth
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Address: 32 Mawhera Quay, Greymouth 7801, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the centre of Greymouth, The Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth is perfectly located for easy access to the West Coast's spectacular scenic attractions. Only 300 metres from the Tranz Alpine train station and Intercity bus terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greymouth Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing