We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend, exceptionally clean, great hosts, value for money”
Review of Aachen Place Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aachen Place Motel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Mebourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highly recommend, exceptionally clean, great hosts, value for money”
Reviewed October 3, 2009

Stayed here for just one night after a day trip on the trans-scenic rail from Christchurch. The owners were so friendly and helpful and happy to have a chat with us about local sight-seeing. The room was nicely decorated, exceptionally clean and had a wonderful comfortable bed. The night was very cold but the room was well heated, a case we found was not the same in some of the places we stayed. Greymouth was a fairly quiet town, but I believe it gets very busy in the summer time. We went to 'Shanty Town' which was very quaint and we had a typical devonshire tea in their beautifully decorated 'Victorian era' tea-rooms and a ride on the steam train. Just a hint-we went to the local 'The Warehouse ' and purchased a cheap thermos to carry hot water which we used to make tea or coffee when we stopped for breaks during the drive between towns. There is also a large supermarket next to 'The Warehouse' where we bought a plastic cutlery set, plates, bowls and cups to use for the 3 weeks. We purchased food at local supermarkets, usually daily, to make our own meals whenever possible. We also brought from home a small flat esky bag to carry milk [or you can buy powdered milk], our sandwiches, cakes etc. We should have brought cutlery etc from home as we seem to always purchase this stuff when we get somewhere and sometimes they are hard to find. This time we left everything at the last hotel we stayed at so hope they put it all to good use!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peggylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    38
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
47
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

The room was very clean (hospital grade), nice flat screen TV, clean and comfy bed. However the problem we had was the noise and light. The windows run the full length of the rooms and the curtains are white and not thick. The morning sun shone right in, it wasnt even the direct light so i would have hated to be on the other side of the complex. The motel is also on the main road and the traffic was very audible in the morning, trucks and what not. Perhaps some thick dark curtains would help. Otherwise a nice little place to stay and the operators were very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank th3bRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2009

Althought we only stayed overnight on route to Franz Josef, this hotel was excellent. The family room was huge and extremely clean. The welcoming chocolates for the kids were a bonus. The owners of the hotel could not do enough for us and were extremely helpful and friendly. If heading south on the west, I would definately recommend this to anyone. It was one of the largest hotel rooms we had on our travels and the cleanest. Great job Acchen Place Motel and thank you for making our short stay enjoyable.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and room size
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alwysluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2008

We stayed at Aachen Place on route from Milford Sound to Dunedin. We arrived at the motel after dark and found the 2 bedroom unit as if it had never been used before. I travel a lot and for this category of motels I must say this is by far the cleanest place I have ever seen. Not one spot in the bathroom, high quality sheets on the beds and kitchen as I can only wish mine would look like every day.

The rooms are not new but as said the fact they appear spotless give the entire experience a very positive feel.

Certainly well worth the money and it comes with great tips on where to eat around Gore. The kind lady of the house suggested dinner at a local restaurant and it turned out to be one of the better culinary highlights of our trip.

  • Liked — Absolutely clean and fresh
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Rianbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2007

We stayed at the Aachen for one night as part of our trip around the south island. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and surprisingly large for a standard motel room. We thought it represented good value for money. The motel is about a 10-15 minute walk from town, due to rain we had to get a taxi back from the city after dinner but the fare was very cheap. The only negative about the motel is that the rooms all face out to the car park and there was some noise from early departers, not such and issue for us as we were also getting up early, but if I was looking to stay longer then may have been an issue. Overall, would recommend for an overnight in Greymouth.

  • Liked — size of room, comfortable
  • Disliked — rooms by car park
  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank princess3016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2007

Found this cute little hotel while staying overnight in Greymouth. There is not much to do at all in this town, plus it rained the whole 42 hours we were there. Hotel is very clean, beds are extremely comfortable and there are numerous channels on the tv. Staff was very nice and even gave you free milk for your stay. We felt like we had our own small house. Nice kitchen with full facilites and very clean bathroom. Rooms heated by space heater which was more than enough warmth. GREAT place, would highly reccommend this place to stay at! plus it is inexpensive!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mjtxf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Forest England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2007

A perfect place to stay when travelling around the South Island. we had a great time here, the Aachen is clean, well cared for and well equipped. The hosts are very pleasant and helpfull. A five star Motel.

  • Liked — Friendly owners, Clean and well equipped
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wineagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Owner. at Aachen Place Motel, responded to this review, April 2, 2007
We thank you for your kind words of support.
Hope your memories of Greymouth will be long lasting.
Barbara and Merv.
Owners
Aachen Place Motel
Greymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
467 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 20 in Greymouth
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Ashley Hotel
The Ashley Hotel
#17 of 20 in Greymouth
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 20 in Greymouth
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 20 in Greymouth
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aachen Place Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aachen Place Motel

Property: Aachen Place Motel
Address: 50 High Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aachen Place Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aachen Place Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aachen Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing