We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hospitality and Service”
Review of Scenicland Motels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scenicland Motels
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hospitality and Service”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Friendly, efficient, helpful service from booking to departure. The 10 people in our party were all happy with this immaculately clean, comfortable motel complete with lovely beds, great bath and local artwork on the walls. We'll be staying at Scenicland Motels again due to the warm hospitality and affordability. Every aspect of our Greymouth trip makes for warm memories and a keenness to visit again soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernShirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    70
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
84
144
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I booked my parents in to stay here, after catching the train. They were greeted by Bronwyn, by there first names, that's awesome. Made them feel real welcome. From the time I booked the room, Bronwyn was in contact with me via email, right up until they arrived and even let me know they were there. (I've never had that happen anywhere. THANKS ) and was going to even meet them at train station. They said room was very nice. So a big thank you, for making them feel comfortable and nice place to stay. Big Thank You. :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Squeaky111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Extremely friendly staff and the rooms were fab! stayed in a family room which felt more like a 2 bed house rather than a motel room. Very well furnished! Very well located on the main highway in Greymouth and just a few steps away from the New World supermarket

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravdeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

After a grueling road trip of the South Island over the Easter holidays, we stayed at the Motel to break the journey on the way back to the Ferry at Picton. We arrived a couple of hours earlier than the standard checking in time, but were met by a lovely reception from the Motels hosts, Bronwyn and John. They couldn't have been any more welcoming and helpful. We were immediately shown to our 2 bedroom suite (which faced onto the main road) and it turned out to be spacious and comfortable. It was clean, warm (heat pump) and the kitchenette was well equipped. We had a great nights sleep and were undisturbed by any traffic noise. The Motel turned out to be a good choice and our part and we would recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldbadger1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This place is fantastic for the price, yes its dated but it is so clean. The guy is an ex builder with a "Crook" back as puts it, but he is great and really gos out of his way. The unit we had was an unit at the back of the motel, we have no complaints great size, very clean. This place is fantastic value. DO TRY IT

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glyder69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Due to working in the area, I have stayed in Scenicland Motel for a month, and it has been excellent. Wifi has worked very well, my room has been cleaned everyday, the shower was very spacious, and my bed was very comfortable. Bronwyn and John who run the motel have been very welcoming, extremely helpful and friendly, and were always there when I needed them. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine5578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

This place is a bit dated, but is very (very) clean and the rooms are spacious and great for families. Service is fabulous and as others have said, the owners go the extra mile to be helpful.
Aquatic centre across the road with very reasonable prices and lots of fun for kids, especially if they're a bit tired of being stuck in the car.
Supermarket virtually next door and good eating options within walking distance.
Would be happy to recommend to others

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 20 in Greymouth
366 reviews
3.8 mi away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#5 of 20 in Greymouth
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
454 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ashley Hotel
The Ashley Hotel
#17 of 20 in Greymouth
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 20 in Greymouth
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenicland Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenicland Motels

Property: Scenicland Motels
Address: 108-110 High Street | West Coast-State Highway 6, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Scenicland Motels 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Scenicland Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing