We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff Impeccable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scenicland Motels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scenicland Motels
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Greymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Staff Impeccable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Comfortable, Clean and a few rooms recently updated and brand new. One of the best parts about a stay here are the comfortable beds and awesome showers and bathrooms. We only stayed one night and if we had not needed to hit the road, we would have stayed more nights just for the bathrooms. Additionally, the staff is phenomenal. Very helpful with information about Greymouth and providing wonderful driving tips for our Journey between Greymouth and Nelson. She also provided good places to stop and ideas on where to stay and base ourselves for a few days up north were tremendously helpful. Highly recommended for a stay in Greymouth.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    59
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
76
131
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiwi NZ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

Very clean and spacious motel. Two bedroom unit with massive bed in main. Although a little dated in the way of decor the motel met all our needs with a full kitchen, large fridge freezer, full oven and microwave. The bathroom & shower needed updating but worked perfectly fine. The room was serviced each day with dishes/beds etc all made up. They even leave snacks & biscuits/lollies each day. There is a New World supermarket and a Dominos pizza less than 100m away, also a bakery just south next to Mobil which stays open all hours and has great food. The Indian restaurant in town is very good despite the average look to it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiNZJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
310 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

The room was spacious(modern new units) but there was no compendium or room info on the motel etc,there were some hairs in the showere upon our arrival but the sweets on arrival were a nice touch as was the cake and biscuits for our 2nd nights stay. On the first night there was a bulb not working and we received quick service to replace it,friendly staff.Overall it was an enjoyable stay and we will recommend it to others thanks to the owners.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatMacnz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi in Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

A very unprepossessing place, sandwiched between two roads, this place dates back to at least the 50s. Apparently the Queen stopped there briefly in 1953 - I doubt she would go there now though! For all that the place looks trapped in a fairly unattractive time-warp, the owners obviously have tried their best to refresh the place - the paint looked new and clean. Our unit was absolutely spotless. Basic, but had everything we needed. Supremely comfortable bed. A heat pump in the living area kept the whole unit warm and was easy to operate.
This is Greymouth after all - I don't expect 'big city' amenities on the West Coast, and I admit I had a sinking feeling on first arriving at Scenicland motels, but I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank familycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
281 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

We arrived at 2:30 pm and had to search the property to find someone to assist us - after 15 mins we finally locating a cleaner in one of the rooms. The reception to the property is a run down timber building that features as the centrepiece and upon which our room viewed. The cleaning lady having provided us with the key to our room was unable to provide us with information on how to get the heater to work or the free wifi "the owner should be back in 45 mins". So we went shopping, and upon our return was again told "the owner should be back in 45 mins"....... 2 hours later still no owner, no heat, no internet! At 6:00 pm frustrated and cold, I finally was able to speak to the owner, work out how to warm the room and then was told that the deal with Wotif only allowed me 20 mg of wifi (hardly enough to check e-mail and book our next hotel). Oh! and if you don't get to use the laundry in the evening then it gets locked until all the guests leave the next day. Against all this the room was well appointed, comfortable, roomy and had it had a better outlook and actual service it would have been fine. Stay here with your eyes open......

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RicknSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 21 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
4.2 mi away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#6 of 21 in Greymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 21 in Greymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ashley Hotel
The Ashley Hotel
#17 of 21 in Greymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 21 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenicland Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenicland Motels

Property: Scenicland Motels
Address: 108-110 High Street | West Coast-State Highway 6, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Scenicland Motels 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Scenicland Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing