We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Greymouth
from $69.00
More Info
from $117.30
More Info
from $51.70
More Info
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveler rating
152
192
106
29
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
192
106
29
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold panning steam train train ride shanty town step back in time pan for gold gold rush couple of hours few hours great place to visit local history rainy day on display native bush well worth the visit sawmill life
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 498 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Took our girls here on holiday and had a wonderful time. Really enjoyed the gold panning and being able to take home our own pot of gold.

Thank prestj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our visit here. Lots to see at your leisure. Photo opportunities. Clean ammenities. Reasonable price for entry and food prices ok too. The train ride was fun. Great for families

1  Thank sawteygirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We called here rather late in the afternoon after just arriving in Greymouth. A little pricey for entrance fee, but the upkeep of a museum and staff wages have to be considered. We had a very enjoyable experience, and learned a good deal about what life was like during the gold rush. Yes there were renovations ongoing but that did not impact on our viewing at all. Enjoyed the train ride and even panning for gold!

Thank aw682018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Shanty Town has some great features but not a lot of action. Some of the exhibits weren’t open and one or two were under renovation.
Would be great with more guides.

Thank susanpG7216UO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

This is a period experience with a real steam train trip you get to sit behind and be explained about its working.

Wonderful to get in to some of the original buildings and walk around the site even with the terrible rain.

$33 seemed a reasonable price. If your looking for interactive touch screens this is not for you. If your are looking for friendly staff and lots of history it’s great.

Thank Dalerblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

Great day out but overpriced for what you get. The facilities and displays need to be 'sharper' and more professional to match the entrance price.

Thank kathmandukid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

The steam train was the highlight but we felt it was over priced unfortunately. Basic cafe on site. Working water wheel was great and talking displays. Museum really rather that real life.

Thank HeatherAbbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

No worth the entry money. Found the percentage of shops closed and only ended up staying for an hour. We only stayed this long as we found a small bush track we walked.

Thank Sandie_C_13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018

We had a morning at Shantytown, before our return to Chistchurch on the TranzAlpine in the afternoon. What an awsome display of a bygone era. Firstly the short steam train ride up an incline. We had a look over the steam engine and chat with the driver. A leisurely walk back through the Bush tracks past buildings and displays of life in the timber and gold mining times in the 1860s on the West coast. The audio presentation from the figures in the buildings were great. We had the opportunity to pan for gold. You keep what you pan. The buildings and displays were very informative. Wow, they certainly worked hard in those days!. We can highly recommended a visit to Shanty town, but plan to stay at least 2-3 hours.

1  Thank vk8ktc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018

HAd a look around Shanty Town, finding the area great to stroll about just browsing.
The bush train, is a must when here. A short ride into the bush, with the opportunity to chat to the loco driver, and a look through the cab, along with photo's, when the train stops, at the end of the line.
On the return journey the train stops off at the sawmill, and the gold panning. Both are worth a look.

Thank 62Peter1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews