We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oooo beeer!”

Monteith's Brewing Company
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.45*
and up
Monteith's Brewery Tour
Ranked #2 of 21 things to do in Greymouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: At Monteith's Brewing Company we love beer. We are also very proud of our newly refurbished brewery. Come and enjoy our locally brewed award winning beers. It doesn't get any fresher than this. Join us on our brewery experience as we guide you through the traditions and heritage of our brewing establishment. You will experience and taste our ever changing and innovative brews; some of which are exclusively produced and sold here by our brewers at Monteith's Brewing Company. We have a tapas style kitchen menu, with beer-match recommendations made by our beer ambassadors to ensure that you get the best Monteith's beer and food experience. HOURS: Summer (Nov-Apr) 11am-9pm Winter (May-Oct) 11am-8pm
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Agree with the other reviewers-tour is pretty basic, but interesting to see how a small brewery operates. The 'museum' was well worth a look whilst sampling the Monteith's range. Good brewery memorabilia (and silly photo opportunities). The snacks that are available to soak up the beer are a bit overpriced, but after a few beers it doesn't seem to matter so much!

Thank Beerwench36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonteithsBrewery, Manager at Monteith's Brewing Company, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2017

Thank you for taking your time to review Monteith's Brewing Company on TripAdvisor - we appreciate your feedback.

We welcome your return to the West Coast.

Cheers,
The Monteith's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great beer"
in 42 reviews
"tapas"
in 36 reviews
"beer tasting"
in 27 reviews
"beer battered chips"
in 21 reviews
"ribs"
in 15 reviews
"on tap"
in 14 reviews
"free beer"
in 12 reviews
"different beers"
in 11 reviews
"open fire"
in 9 reviews
"pour your own"
in 9 reviews
"tour guide"
in 25 reviews
"great tour"
in 18 reviews
"nice atmosphere"
in 7 reviews
"apple cider"
in 7 reviews
"whitebait"
in 6 reviews
"boutique brewery"
in 6 reviews
"your choice"
in 6 reviews
Filter

516 - 520 of 595 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was our first trip to New Zealand with 2 other couples. We had planned to spend the night in Greymouth, NZ. When we arrived early, we looked for something to do. The guys read that Greymouth has a brewery - jackpot! We said good bye to our wives who didn't want to go and the guys were off to Monteith's.

The previous night we had Monteith's Golden Lager with dinner and it was very good. Now we were setting out to see how it was made.

We pad $20.00 NZ per person for the tour and the tasting that followed the tour. I've got to say, the tour was a bit lame. We saw some empty tanks, and some keg and bottling machines that weren't in operation. Our tour guide told a few stories otherwise it would have taken 5 minutes. So, I would have to say the tour was not worth it.

Now for the beer. Everyone on the tour started with a tasting of Monteith's IPA beer. I say tasting, but you actually get a good size pilsner glass full. After the IPA, you get to select 3 other brews - same size. We tried their Original Ale, Celtic Red, Black, more Golden Lager and Pilsner. We even tried their Crushed Apple Cider. All our selections were outstanding. So here's a big YES for Monteith's brews.

I guess my 4 star rating reflects their beers more than the tour.

2  Thank GLaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonteithsBrewery, Manager at Monteith's Brewing Company, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2017

Thank you for taking your time to review Monteith's Brewing Company on TripAdvisor - we appreciate your feedback.

We welcome your return to the West Coast.

Cheers,
The Monteith's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

After the crossing Alps with the transscenic we had to make a stop on our way to Punakaiki. We have tasted all beers, taking some also at home. Food was also goood and athmosphere was cool and pleasant. Congratulation to locals that they kept the brewery in Greymouth!

Thank Radu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonteithsBrewery, Manager at Monteith's Brewing Company, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2017

Thank you for taking your time to review Monteith's Brewing Company on TripAdvisor - we appreciate your feedback.

We welcome your return to the West Coast.

Cheers,
The Monteith's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

A great thing to do if you're in Greymouth! The tour was simple yes, but it's a small brewery - they can only show you what they have. Great value with the 'passport' which includes 3 additional beers to the small one you pour yourself. The passport also includes a $15 meal voucher which is well worth doing and another free beer at your dinner location. Highly recommended!!!

Thank busybeebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonteithsBrewery, Manager at Monteith's Brewing Company, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2017

Thank you for taking your time to review Monteith's Brewing Company on TripAdvisor - we appreciate your feedback.

We welcome your return to the West Coast.

Cheers,
The Monteith's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

The best value for this place is through pre paid tickets. We got ours for 10$ each through bookme which was excellent value. The tour itself wasnt worth it. The lady spent most of the time slagging off monteiths for restructuring and making the engineer redundant, the tour itself was perhaps 15 mins. It is no longer a full brewery, rather a testing place for new beers, thus you dont see it actually working, and its small (like 50m square)...

that being said the tour comes with 4 free beers. This is great value, even if we had paid full price ($20)... The beers were great as was the food. All in all recommended for the cheap beer alone!

Thank ASHM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonteithsBrewery, Manager at Monteith's Brewing Company, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2017

Thank you for taking your time to review Monteith's Brewing Company on TripAdvisor - we appreciate your feedback.

We welcome your return to the West Coast.

Cheers,
The Monteith's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteith's Brewing Company also viewed

Greymouth, West Coast Region
Greymouth, West Coast Region
 
Greymouth, West Coast Region
Greymouth, West Coast Region
 

Been to Monteith's Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing