We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally fabulous”
Review of Killer Prawn

Killer Prawn
Ranked #34 of 131 Restaurants in Whangarei
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Totally fabulous”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband and i went here earlier this month and its outstanding,omg the battered bucket of prawns to start is a must,theres a huge menu,we both had steak and it was amazing,cooked perfectly,lovely veg and great chips,wait staff very pleasant.the restraunt itselg is a lovely setting,we will definitely go back,easily the best place in whangerei for food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    52
    23
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

People do yourself a favour, do lunch at Killer Prawn, the food is brilliant, we had prawn cocktails as a main along with the seafood chowder, brilliant is all I can say, one of the highlights to date. Staff and service 2nd to none.. Keep up the great work

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kezza361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrinsville, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fallen from prior excellence”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I have eaten at Killer Prawn many times in the past when in the area for business. Was my favourite place and one I previously recommended to others. This time around the magic was gone. The service was average and the few groups that were in the resturant were all jammed fairly well together in one area. This also meant that everytime the staff were attending the tables they squashed through behind my chair and brushing against my back on numerous occasions. The food was very ordinary. I had cumin rubbed lamp rump. The cumin was so heavily applied that everything on the plate was overpowered and I ended up mostly aiming for the vegies and left half the meal on the plate. Disappointing at the price. Others at the table were similiarly unimpressed with their mains. I was catching up with old collegues and trying to enjoy the evening however once our mains were done it was clear from the service staff that it was time to move on. Maybe I'll try somewhere else next time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank aidsnang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not impressed this time”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We have eaten at Killer Prawn several times in the past & went again because we had enjoyed the food & atmosphere. This time We were disappointed! I know they were busy but it has been on other occasions & this time it was just not the same. the food was average & a bit expensive for what we had & caring attention to customers was just not there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice dinner out”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Came to Killer Prawn after checking out trip advisor & local knowledge. Not let down at all, lovely food on offer.

Meals were well sized & the Tempura Prawns were the best I have ever had!

Service was ok, although production of a wine/beer list prior to being asked what you would like to drink would be handy.

Venue was warm & welcoming.

Helpful?
Thank SOC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Killer Prawn also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Killer Prawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing