We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Flutes
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flutes
Ranked #20 of 29 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent a week in the modern Courtyard apartment and were impressed by the spaciousness and the facilities in it. The kitchen was roomy and was fully fitted - pots and pans, jug, toaster etc – for a self-catering stay. The bathroom was also well fitted out and had plenty of area as did the mezzanine bedroom, with its great view to Mount Manaia. The lounge area with its leather sofa was comfortable and the dining area had more than enough space for us two people.
Overall we were comfortable in the roomy apartment.

However we think that the description of “luxury accommodation” is a step too far when to quote from the Flutes website:

‘Luxury means the best in facilities food and service….luxury properties are located in magnificent settings and offer additional touches to make a memorable stay’

Yes the setting is magnificent but unfortunately the “additional touches” were just not there. The initial impression was a great let down. The courtyard had many dead leaves in it with dying pot plants covered in spider webs, a table and chairs that were dusty and tired looking and a generally run down look, not conducive “to relax and enjoy those warm evenings” – it was not a great welcome to Flutes!

The “luxurious bathrobes” were far from luxurious, both being well frayed and showing their age.

We were shown the way to the spa bath and sauna and were amazed at the rubbish lying around in the laundry area through which we had to go. Rubbish was stacked everywhere – even the clothes dryer was full of paper and cardboard rubbish. Although washing facilities were available to use, the state of the washing machine and dryer would mean cleaning both of their rubbish - we ended up using the Laundromat in Whangarei (that provided exceptional service).

We have been travelling in NZ and Europe for 9 years and always look for self-catering places where we can stay for a week or two. Yes at Flutes there was a bottle of great NZ bubbly to greet us and Kay’s chocolates were a nice treat one evening but the finishing touches were disappointing to us. It may have been a one off with Kay being away during our stay but we have to be honest.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SixtyplusOldBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flutes, Owner at Flutes, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Firstly, thank you for taking time to write your review.

For us being involved in customer service means all comment is valid,but of course we are very disappointed to read this particular review. We have responded directly to the reviewer and indicated areas where we accept their criticicsm as fully valid and others where we don't. We have also indicated personal circumstances which admittedly meant we did not achieve our usual high standard. We do find it surprising that no adverse comment was made to us at the time, that the appearance on departure was of happy guests, and that it has taken four months to write and publish this review. We would make a simple plea on behalf of most accommodation providers: if you are unhappy with any aspect of service please raise it with your hosts at their location immediately any problem/concern arises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 21 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

Yet another visit to Flutes. This time we took advantage of Andy's shuttle service - he collected us from and returned us to Auckland airport which made all the difference. The Bayview room was still as comfy and tastefully furnished. Kay's breakfasts are still delicious. The wildlife on the lawn has increased - 20+ ducks, rabbits and a number of pukekos - and are very entertaining. The view from Flutes is one of the best we have seen. Kay's homemade chocolates have to be tried - gorgeous!

Room Tip: The Bayview is a B&B room with a superking bed and ensuite. The courtyard appartment is self co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadVic2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed in the Bayview Suite, which has a nice private deck overlooking the picturesque McLeod Bay area.

Breakfast each day was generous and delicious each day - especially those freshly baked muffins!

Flutes is about 30 minutes away from Whangarei in the car, but don't let it put you off, as the drive is lovely, and a tranquil destination awaits you at the end of it. The location is handy for beaches and local walks including the Mount Mania track, which is tough on the calves but totally worth it!

Kay & Andy were excellent hosts; we were impressed by all those little extra touches (e.g. samples of Kay's handmade chocolates in the room) and how often they were prepared to "go the extra mile" to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pndontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Kay & Andy were perfect hosts, Kay a fabulous cook, they couldn't do enough for us. We loved the room we stayed in,the linen was lovely, the bed very comfortable, bathroom great with all that you could need down to a manicure set.
McLeod Bay was great, handy to lovely walks and beaches and "The Deck" was just 3 minutes walk away for dinner, a burger or icecream. It was great to stay out of the City Centre, no traffic noise, just the resident bird life, next time we go it will be for longer than two days.

Room Tip: For B&B there is only the one room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We had a delightful 3 night mini holiday in the Bayview suite at Flutes where we had a room that exuded luxury and a peaceful view to look out onto. The room had a king size bed (with luxurious bedding and cushions), a fridge (complete with complimentary champagne), a desk (with tea, coffee and handmade chocolates), TV and DVD player, a convenient ensuite (with lovely large fluffy towels) and a comfortable sitting area where we could admire those relaxing views.
The location of Flutes is very private but is walking distance to two places to eat - The Deck and the club and of course there are other places to eat out on the Heads road. But after the breakfast provided by Kay this may not be necessary. Fruit, juice and cereals are provided and this is followed by either a wonderful full cooked breakfast with sausages, bacon, mushrooms and eggs or a choice of flavours of fresh cooked muffins which are superb. All of this is served in the conservatory which has those peaceful views and we were entertained by the ducks and pukekos grazing on the front lawn. After such a sumtuous feast lunch was not necessary and even dinner was a stretch!
On the third night of our stay Kay and Andy very generously found a bed for our teenage daughter who had survived two nights camping in the rain but could not face a third. They also provided her with breakfast at no additional cost.
Although we did not require much information on things to do and places to go, it was obvious that both Kay and Andy have a love of the area and are very keen for others to learn and experience those delights. Thanks so much for the superb hospitality - we will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

This is a beautiful B & B. Kaye and Andy have gone out of their way to make the rooms very sumptuous and inviting. In particular we appreciated the gourmet coffee, hand made chocolates and champagne in the room. In addition the bathroom towels were beautiful and seemed to be changed all the time. Kaye and Andy are great hosts and Kaye produces marvellous, thoughtful breakfasts. We had an excellent stay the only negative comment would be that if your schedule is tight and includes a lot of driving getting in and out from Flutes to Whangerei adds on another 30 minutes each way.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pickytraveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This was our last stop in New Zealand. When I booked the room, I didn't realize it was so far out in Whangarei Heads, and at first as we were driving out I started to get worried that we wouldn't enjoy being so far away from the activity and restaurants. However, once we were settled in and started exploring, I was completly relieved. This little secluded town is paradise, and the bed and breakfast is very close to everything you would want to do. The room was nice, clean sheets, clean shower, a great reading nook and fantastic deck to enjoy the views of the bay. The breakfast was gourmet. The hosts were wonderful. Ask your hosts for some ideas for the area. They pointed us to a place to rent kayaks and explore the bay, a surfers beach to watch some surfers and a lovely secluded beach to enjoy a day at. We had a great stay at this b&b and it was a nice way to wrap up our visit to NZ.

Do be aware that you will have to drive a ways to find a place for dinner, but being in such a peaceful place all day makes it worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Awardsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
12.7 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
150 reviews
13.1 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
297 reviews
12.3 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Motel Six
Motel Six
#16 of 34 in Whangarei
58 reviews
13.2 mi away
Burgundy Rose Motel
Burgundy Rose Motel
#6 of 34 in Whangarei
130 reviews
9 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flutes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flutes

Address: 2119 Whangarei Heads Road | McLeod Bay RD4, Whangarei 0174, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range: $66 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a relaxing break at Flutes, for Bed and Breakfast and self-contained contemporary luxury accommodation, set in the shade of Mount Manaia . Our two accommodation options are : The Studio - self- contained with fully fitted kitchen, sleeps up to 4 people. The Bayview Suite - A spacious room with a kingsize bed and stunning sea views Both rooms have ensuite shower and Sky TV. Spa bathroom and sauna are also available for guests ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing