We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good”
Review of Tonic Restaurant

Tonic Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 130 Restaurants in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always good”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We have had a couple of celebrations lately and chosen to go to tonic. we havent been disappointed yet. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food is consistently good. Love.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vivvib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    55
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Very bland needs some care in the food and a bit of seasoning goes along way.”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Food was very bland bar the onion tart which was actually quite nice. The mushroom risotto had very little flavor and needed seasoning, it tasted as if it wasn't cooked in very flavorful stock a must for a risotto it kind if tasted like nothing. My partners "crispy" chicken breast was anything but crispy, if you advertise crispy you should serve crispy and it just tasted very average. My mother in laws chicken was half raw being that it was a chicken supreme I thought it might have been from the bone but on a closer look was actually raw she sent it back which she got an apology for. Been here a few times for there Sunday deal same menu every time, same special every time. Hasn't changed in two or three years!? Maybe needs a little bit of an update? Seemed like the chefs didn't care a whole deal and just seemed lazy not much love went into is which is sad. Just a pretty average meal not to impressed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Srchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“If you can find better in Northland NZ please let me know!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

This place is what dining out is supposed to be
Only small,just a shop front with no pretensions
Food was superb and our waitress Ashleigh is world class
Do yourself a favour and try it - you will not be disappointed

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ozgrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good food.”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The food is amazing. Not only presented well but tastes even better. It has nice clean tidy decor and a good atmosphere aswell.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A long time favourite”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I have always enjoyed the 'tonic' and have been there many times. Definitely one of the best restaurants in Whangarei. The food is delicious, the Sunday night menu particularly good value for money, you can park right outside - or in my case, it's within walking distance, which will be more and more important when the drink driving limit is lowered. Particular stand-out dishes that I have had many times are the French Onion soup and the creme brulee. My last visit was for lunch with a friend. I am really pleased to see them opening at lunch times, but would love it if the days for this were extended. I can't make it during the week. my only real criticism is to agree with Carol, who said they should change the menu more often! (keeping the creme brulee of course)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tonic Restaurant also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Tonic Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing