We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Yummy”
Review of Tonic Restaurant

Tonic Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 130 Restaurants in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Yummy”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a good meal here, the staff were lovely and food was great, would go back again, remember to book as they tend to get full on the weekends

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank pdharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    55
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

I have been many times and I'm never disappointed. Fabulous food and great service. The staff are well presented and well trained. They also have a great sections of wines.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelbournianWhangarei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommend - never disappoints”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Have been to Tonic many times, and always have a fabulous time. The food is always perfect, service impeccable and a great atmosphere. Highly recommend to both locals and those visiting Whangarei.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MSD86gt6f876f7h76gf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great experience”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We chose Tonic to celebrate the last night of a terrific family holiday and didn't disappoint. Delicious, honest food without any 'foam' or 'freeze dried' frivolities that my parents aren't fond of. I shared a haloumi salad to start and had the steak for my main which was melt in the mouth. Others had the mushroom risotto, duck confit and pork belly. Everything got the thumbs up. I finished off with a chocolate marquise with licquorice ice cream which was a surprising but well matched flavour. The waitress was charming and entertaining. Highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachiebakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Return”
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

I was last here some 8 years ago and seemingly only the kitchen layout has changed. The menu was good but fresh snapper had to win and the potato purée was subservient. The garlic and butter mushrooms were good burnout exceptional. Main Divide Pinot noir is the sort of wine this sort of place should have and at $48 is a reasonable price. Special coffees were first class.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dick74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tonic Restaurant also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Tonic Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing