We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertaining Waiter”
Review of Reva's On The Waterfront - CLOSED

Reva's On The Waterfront
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Entertaining Waiter”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Enjoyed the banter with the Fijian waiter. Pleasant.
Sat outside, in the non-smoking area, after a bit of confusion at first. Lady inside thought I asked for smoking!
Pasta with red sauce, should have been offered a bib!
Dessert of Chocolate nut tart was divided into two to share.... beautifully presented.
Fast service on drinks!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    81
    53
    46
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“awful”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

ate here on a very quiet night for them ... just ordered salads ... how hard can that be? 45 mins later ...no food ... went to ask about it and they had forgotten to place the order. 45 mins again ... 2 ropey rubbish salads with overcooked meat. don't waste your time here, life is too short when there are other nice places around with great food and service

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vicky m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unfriendly and downright nasty waiter”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I've been going to Reva's for a few years now. Food is little bit over average but nice view and had accommodating staff. I went in today with my friend and grandmother was shocked with how we was treated. First I asked if we could sit outside. One of the waitresses said yes and directed us to smoking section without informing us first. We got our menu and my friend had to go in to order our meals and drinks [2 long blacks with Ice] and she also asked for water. When she came back people around us were smoking so we had to move. As we were moving my friend asked for water again and the waiter said "It's over there." They brought water to other tables but we can get it ourselves? We sat down at the new table and the waiter brought iced coffee with ice cream inside. My friend reminded him that this was not what she asked. "We asked for long black with ice. No milk and no cream" to which he replied "That's not milk, it's ice cream." "No. I asked for long black with ice." He finally took them back and left saying "You just said Iced coffee." in a very nasty tone. This was the last straw and we left without having anything. Later my friend told me he was nasty when she was ordering as well. I've been going there for 10 years and the service we received today was absolutely the worst. I will not be going back nor introduce friends to this place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank ktlove1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disrepectful treatment by owners of guests”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We are local to Whangarei - we have not been to this restaurant for years since the owners have been very disrespectful on a number of occasions - i.e. unfriendly and ignorant of our needs.
Additionally the food was rather average in relation to its price.

A reasonable amount of our (local) friends feel the same way about the place and have not been there for many years either.

It is a shame because the location as such is an absolute gem ... stunning!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 1Maya23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“just a cafe”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

to NOISY CAN,T TALK TO YOUR NEIGHBOUR VERY SLOW Lovely setting if you sit outside otherwise try the other resturants at the Waterfront in Whangarei

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 904margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reva's On The Waterfront also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing