We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

McMorrissey's Irish Pub & Eatery
Ranked #69 of 130 Restaurants in Whangarei
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was the first time I had visited since the expansion and I am in two minds about the expansion. Before, cosy and warm. After, more room. Time will tell, should be good. The meals are well presented, good portions and tasty. Terrific bar staff and it is a great place to spend an evening when there is live music

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abfan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    19
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Love this place”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Just go...simple as that :) the foods great, the bands and music is awesome!! Great staff!! Something is going on nearly every night of the week so check it out!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
202 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A good place to stop.”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Called into McMorrissey’s for a drink while taking a break from our retail therapy, it was a welcome respite from the cool breeze blowing outside. We enjoyed it so much we returned later for dinner and enjoyed a great meal. Lots of bar leaners and not enough tables for diners and disinterested bar staff otherwise a good place to stop off.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New Years Eve”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Was great to see the New Year in at McMorrissey's as it was the most happening place in Whangarei that night. The atmosphere was great and they had a live band playing. It was the first time I had been in the bar since it expanded and I was impressed with the size and way they had used the space. Drinks and food were average prices and although I didn't have the food I did see some people eating and the food looked yummy.

Helpful?
1 Thank Houhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Pub Food”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

It was very quiet the night we went to this restaurant. So we had the place to ourselves so service was great. Very wide variety of pub food. If you can't find something you like I would be surprised.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lsarrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McMorrissey's Irish Pub & Eatery also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to McMorrissey's Irish Pub & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing