We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Split Bar & Restaurant

Split Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 128 Restaurants in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, European, New Zealand, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 'DOBRI DOSLI' - WELCOME TO SPLIT Enjoy a tasty cooked meal using fresh local produce and seafood, and succulent New Zealand lamb & beef. There is beer on tap and a range of beautiful New Zealand wines. Whether you are dining with us or simply wish to enjoy the atmosphere, a glass of wine and a delicious mezze platter after work, you are always welcome at Split. The two separate areas within Split, cater for a restaurant dining experience with cocktail bar, or a garden bar with a fun relaxed atmosphere, and a giant screen to entertain if desired. You can find us opposite the Post Office in Rathbone St, Whangarei.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
267 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a busy bar/restaurant. Not the place for a romantic dinner but ideal to meet friends for drinks and dinner. The food is good, service is prompt in an atmosphere thats humming. Has a good variety on the menu, something for everyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    49
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"BRILLIANT"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Food always excellent, Always friendly staff, nice atmosphere. Brilliant food, quik to come out, and full of flavour. MUST visit again for sure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank olivia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy Meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Value for money and the best steak ive had for awhile. Excellent service and waiter didn't mind making my meal to suit. Much worth a visit for a meal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brthday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We chose Split because we could take our five year old, they supplied a colouring book and pencils for her while we waited for our meals. The meals were delicious , the service was great. We will be back , there are more meals we want to try off the menu. Well worth a visit

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry
Level Contributor
228 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Do not be put off by the front”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We were invited to dinner at split by local residents which was a well worthwhile invitation. Bearing in mind it is abar and restaurant it offers a full range of drinks and some very tasty food. The proportions are big so go with one or two courses in mind you will need to have a gigantic appetite for three.
The food was well presented cooked to perfection and the friendly staff served us with obvious delight that we had come in.

The food prices were reasonably priced but the drink prices were rather over the top.

My starter of seafood chowder was a taste to compare with the famous clam chowder in the U S A. With a bigger portion t could become a very acceptable main course.

If you are in Whangarei then give it a try.

Helpful?
Thank johnamason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Split Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Split Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing