We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dickens Inn

Dickens Inn
Ranked #38 of 128 Restaurants in Whangarei
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over priced”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I felt Dickens Inn wasn't good value for money. My friend ordered the steak medium rare, the steak was rare and very, very red inside and she did not enjoy it at all. My other friend ordered the seafood chowder which she said was delicious. I ordered the baked, stuffed chicken which was also very nice. The price we paid for a starter, main and one drink i feel was too expensive for the quality of the food we experienced. However, the service and atmosphere was very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    81
    31
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Arrived into Whangarei at 9pm on Tuesday night - dropped gears to motel and then looked for eating joint. Not too many still serving dinner. But Dickens was!
Great service. Lovely young staff. And yummy food. Recommend the bbq king prawns on the starters menu :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KPwhanau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant Steak!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Friday night; wasn't too busy at all. We were lucky. Had fantastic service the whole night. Entree of bread to start with was perfect. Menu had plenty of goodies to choose from. The steak, was brilliant. Very good price for it too. Beers, nothing too exciting. Will be back again next time we are up.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarcJarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have never eaten here but popped in for a drink with my wife. $20.00 for a beer and a glass of house Sav. Ouch! No wonder people get pre loaded.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimamaku, Northland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fresh Food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

this is a great restaurant, always happy to cater for individuals, couples or groups, the food is amazing. Well worth a night out with friends. very relaxing.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dickens Inn also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Dickens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing