We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Steak!”
Review of Dickens Inn

Dickens Inn
Ranked #36 of 132 Restaurants in Whangarei
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant Steak!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Friday night; wasn't too busy at all. We were lucky. Had fantastic service the whole night. Entree of bread to start with was perfect. Menu had plenty of goodies to choose from. The steak, was brilliant. Very good price for it too. Beers, nothing too exciting. Will be back again next time we are up.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarcJarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    84
    33
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have never eaten here but popped in for a drink with my wife. $20.00 for a beer and a glass of house Sav. Ouch! No wonder people get pre loaded.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimamaku, Northland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fresh Food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

this is a great restaurant, always happy to cater for individuals, couples or groups, the food is amazing. Well worth a night out with friends. very relaxing.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hell, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Central location, poor service”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The great location of this venue was, for us, more than undone, by the charmless service - not a word of thanks and drinks etc being slammed down in front of us.

Really pricey too for what is pub grub. Return visits to Whangarei will bypass this establishment...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank South37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait or the price. WILL NOT GO AGAIN.”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My partner and I went with another couple, just walked in as it looked only half full if that. at $28 a pizza we thought was a bit steep but thought maybe the quality must be worth it. How WRONG we were. Firstly we waited 30 mins for the first pizza we assumed the 2nd was on the way. 15 mins later we had to remind the waitress about the 2nd pizza as they had forgotten we ordered 2. We accepted the refund of half a pizza but it was too little too late. NEVER AGAIN!!!!

SAVE YOUR TIME AND MONEY AND DONT GO HERE!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank David_Howard_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dickens Inn also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Dickens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing