We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little cafe, delicious breakfast, friendly staff.”
Review of Caffeine Espresso Cafe - CLOSED

Caffeine Espresso Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
136 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Lovely little cafe, delicious breakfast, friendly staff.”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

This cafe did the most amazing breakfast!!! Absolutely huge and awesome. Only charged me an extra dollar for avo as well which I thought very reasonable. Had already bought a huge brekkie I suppose. Had the bubble and squeak (more like just a kumara mash I must say - but absolutely delicious). Maybe bubble and squeak is different here to in England. Yummy tho!!! Coffees ok... As a batista i am picky. Not bad but not incredible. But the brekkie - incredible!! And the staff so lovely. My only reservation is that it did take a while.... Not sure how quickly you would get your food if it was very busy??!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Bexen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    15
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tasty lunch”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Good blackboard menu to select from plus cabinet food for those in a hurry. Friendly service - they run out of pine nuts for my kumera salad and came and asked me what other nuts I would like instead. Hubby rates his bubble & squeak 8 out of 10 - one of the nicest lots of mash he has had for a long time!
Definitely return there if in the area!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei Heads, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A Whangarei staple!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Caffeine is always enjoyable. The coffee and food are great and the service is always friendly. The place is always busy, which is a good sign, but you never wait for very long. I go there at least once a week and plan a lot of meetings there.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ijoymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Coffee stop”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile


Very busy cafe, good selection of food and pleasant decor. Local art work displayed on the wall. Friendly staff & good service. Popular stop for locals.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amaze Coffee!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Love the breakfast menu, this place is always packed even on a Sunday.
Right in the heart of town the coffee and service impress.
Friendly staff - this place does Whangas proud.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank erialcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffeine Espresso Cafe also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing