We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, comfort,quiet, good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
cleveland ohio usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“location, comfort,quiet, good service”
Reviewed October 29, 2010

This motel is in a very convenient location. Close to CBD and hospital, bus service is available. Under new management. They have several types of accomodation, some small flats and even holiday homes are available.
There is breakfast, order-in meals, a spa , pool, and a very nice laundry. The grounds are roomy and there are not alot of buildings nor neighbors close by.
When I stayed it was always quiet here so we could relax and have a good night's sleep.
There is a BBQ grill so that you can prepare your food, and my flat had a cooker with oven, microwave and fridge. My car park was right outside. My room was not too small, there was plenty of space for my large amount of luggage
Internet and Fax available. Check your e-mail free, but you may have to pay a small fee for longer sessions.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    44
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
28
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

We arrived in Whangarei without any bookings. After checking out 3 other locations it was easy to decide on Cheviot Park Motor lodge. The rooms are functional with the basic amenities, but more importantly they were clean and crisp looking with the white linens on the bed. The owner was very friendly and willing to negotiate her rates.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoCdnabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

Great Lodge and wonderful owners!
The room was quite large with kitchenette and large bath.
Exceptionally clean and well appointed. One of our favorite stays during our 5 week drive through New Zealand. Don't hesitate to book a room here!

  • Liked — Great Value!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2007

Stayed at the Cheviot Park Motel on a Friday night a few weeks ago. The city was booked out so this place was not our first choice. Although by the time we arrived they were booked out the staff remained friendly and helpful i.e didn't appear stressed or rushed. The room we stayed in did not have any outlook which might have been nice but we were only there for one night and not bothered. The room was comfortable and nice and clean. Would recommend for a night or so.

  • Liked — clean and tidy good service for price
  • Disliked — no outlook
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PhoenixBloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
1.2 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
2.6 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#7 of 34 in Whangarei
53 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
0.1 mi away
Motel Villa Del Rio
Motel Villa Del Rio
#4 of 34 in Whangarei
74 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#3 of 34 in Whangarei
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheviot Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheviot Park Motor Lodge

Property: Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Address: Corner SH 1,Western Hills Dr. & Cheviot St., Whangarei 0110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheviot Park Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to stay in Whangarei, Cheviot Park Motor Lodge and Conference Centre is situated in Whangarei, just 2 hour's drive from Auckland and less than 1 hour from the Bay of Islands. It is conveniently located on State Highway 1, only 1km from Whangarei city centre, 650m from Whangarei Hospital and close to most sporting venues. All accommodation is on the ground floor with free secure parking outside the units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cheviot Park Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing