We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rip off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Great location but rude staff, overpriced and dated room. Mattress was old, worn and uncomfotable like everything else in this place. Not good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pumpkin888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 231 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2008

Our company uses the Settlers accomodation.

It is generally pretty awful, the decor is very dated. The whole place smells old. The linen is almost without exception stained and I have often found holes in my sheets.

This is the kind of place that you have to look very carefully at everything you are going to use to make sure it is clean.

A few positives, the mini bar is well stocked and reasonably priced and much to my surprise they supply fairly decent tea and coffee unlike the crap you get at most hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hrb190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2007

This property is a typical motor court style motel. It is a reasonable distance from the centre of town (really geared towards travellers who are driving).

The room we stayed in was straight out of the early 1970s (very big on pine wood panelling!). While it was neat, the room felt dusty (and could really benefit from being updated). It appears that the hotel may be in the process of updating their rooms - so this should bring accommodation up to standard.

The problems were the amount of noise that you could hear from the carpark, and the fact that a number of lights around the property were not working (especially outside the room where we were staying) - making it feel a bit unfriendly and unsafe.

The other main problem was the very thin walls - we could hear a lot of noise from the room next door (television, person talking on the phone, other less than pleasant sounds of other guests...) - so be wary of rooms here that are separated from other rooms by a door - rather than a solid wall).

On the plus side, the staff were very welcoming and friendly.

All in all, not the greatest hotel experience, but rooms in this town were scarce and this hotel was able to come up with the goods.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bee-Jai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Flyerzblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
Thank ArmandTr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank caroline_pariot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Besser dieses Hotel nicht buchen!
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Balimara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
3.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
0.5 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
1.8 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#7 of 34 in Whangarei
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
142 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
293 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
#5 of 34 in Whangarei
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei

Address: 61 Hatea Drive, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range: $74 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Settlers Hotel, perfectly positioned colonial style hotel with its in-house restaurant and bar, nestled in beautiful park like surrounds,a short stroll from the hotel will lead you along the riverside, down to the town basin; where the Whangarei marina bursts with international flavour. An assortment of colourful shops, and galleries can be found in this area. A short drive away lie the Whangarei Falls, a breathtaking waterfall and bushwalk in a beautiful native bush setting. Another 20 minutes on you will find yourself in the world-famous Tutukaka Harbour, gateway to the Poor Knights Islands. These Islands offer the most spectacular diving and snorkeling in New Zealand; with stunning underwater topography and a cornucopia colourful life. Dozens of white sand beaches, romantic paradise, or fun family getaway. These are just a few attractions Whangarei has to offer whether it's business, pleasure, domestic or international. Discovery Settlers is the place to stay in Whangarei. We look forward to hosting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing