We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has it all” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Stone Butter Factory

The Old Stone Butter Factory
Ranked #1 of 2 Food & Drink in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Butter Factory is a welcoming place for people of all ages and walks of life that enjoy good hospitality in a heritage building that oozes ambiance, and a hugely popular sunny courtyard to boot! We have a menu available from the minuet we open till close including fantastic coffee and great range of non-alcoholic drinks. However we also have an extensive range of craft beers, local wines and fresh cocktails served by friendly staff. A major focus here at "Butters" is the entertainment that we host, everything from poetry evenings, youth gigs, touring bands, movie nights, and burlesque shows! Please see our website or FB page for our very busy event schedule. Or contact us if you want to bring your talents to our stage. See you soon!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Has it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Great prices, great food,fantastic service, friendly atmosphere, entertaining, child friendly, convenient location, excellent parking and finally a comfortable location to chill, chat and be merry. A+++ highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    14
    9
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The place to be in Whangarei”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Love it here. The food is excellent, the entertainment is fantastic and varied and the staff are friendly and always have a smile on their dials. Highly recommend the butter factory, great atmosphere!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Verde3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place in Whangarei for Entertainment, Coffee, Beer, Wine and Good Times”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Old Stone Butter Factory has something for everyone, they have some kind of entertainment happening every weekend and very often during the weekdays also. Fancy a coffee made by a barrista who wont burn your soy latte? See Jess!! She makes fabulous coffee! Gluten Free, Dairy Free and Vegetarian food options are available and you can actually get coffee and food during the entire day and the evening! The staff are friendly and approachable and if you are a visitor to the area could give you tips about where to go and what to do. They have an excellent range of beer and wine, and appreciate the craft beer market and a good cocktail! Its family friendly are I would reccommend it to everyone! I went in just the other day to ask if they would be happy to help with a CASPER kindness project and Jess was more than happy, when I brought my coffee it was a perfect soy latte - just like every other time Jess has made the coffee. Win :)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Excellent staff. And an atmosphere unlike anything you have seen in whangarei. Beautiful bar food and pizza. Cocktails like you wouldn't believe. Dont forget to ask for a kraken and l&p

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank piratezak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great little place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Nice food, good prices. Staff are friendly. Nice environment to eat in and good music playing. Not really much else to say but would defiantly recommend.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillius_fogg1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Stone Butter Factory also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to The Old Stone Butter Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing