We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”
Review of Tealmere Grove B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tealmere Grove B&B
Ranked #11 of 31 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were greeted by the owners of the B&B, were welcomed into their home and treated to a mile-high delicious piece of home-baked apple pie. Our room was comfortable and spacious, complete with its own shower and heated towel racks. There is a comfy common room for guests as well. The grounds are tranquil and beautiful. We stayed one night and awoke to an extensive and delicious full breakfast. Anne and Harry are perfect hosts, and clearly enjoy meeting people and providing exceptional accommodation to visitors to New Zealand. Definitely worth a stay at Tealmere Grove. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
21
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My two adult sons & I were visited the area for three days in early October. Anna & Harry were wonderful! We arrived late, they were awake waiting our arrival with a freshly baked apple pie. She even offered to make us dinner. Their home is lovely, breakfast was delicious. They also rearranged our previously booked arrangements to make us more comfortable. I would definately stay there again!

Room Tip: They have rooms with ensuite bathrooms, one with queen bed, another with queen & single. The roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamajujubee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C. Canada
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

It was a good decision to stay with Anna and Harry. We stopped by before noon to drop off our bags and were treated to Anna's home-made Dutch plum cake, the best I've ever had. The room was spacious and comfortable, and they had some good suggestions for things to do. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caminoista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We found Tealmere Grove through the local tourist office and really fell on our feet. We only wanted 2 nights but stayed for 7. Anne and Harrie made us so welcome that we really did feel part of the family. The breakfast was fantastic and the overall hospitality was such that you really did not want to leave. A very nice room in immaculate condition and would recommend it to anyone touring the North Island.

Room Tip: No swimming pool (got carried away doing the assessment).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

It's pretty much all been said before by other reviewers...great welcome received, made to feel immediately at home, quiet location (about 3km from the city centre) and nice facilities. Anne clearly adored my little baby girl with lots of welcome attention and nice hugs. They had a teddy bear, cot, high chair etc all ready to go. Its the personal touch by owners that truly care that make this a great place to stay. 'Nuff said.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn_Zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

A warm and friendly welcome (lovely Dutch apple cake !) at the pretty bungalow set in an attractive and very quiet residential estate. Anna gave us some helpful advice about the local sights and restaurants at Whangarei Town Basin. Tealmere Grove is a convenient stopover from Auckland to Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaBKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

I was made to feel welcome from my first inquiry, through phone calls on my arrival in Whangarei, and throughout my stay, so I would recommend Tealmere Grove both for people travelling alone or more than one together. Normally I would be travelling with my partner Heather, but made this trip to NZ by myself, so was pleased to find such a good and flexible place to stay.

Arriving by foot on a very hot day, and feeling hot and tired, I was greeted warmly by Anna and immediately offered refreshments and a place to rest, and this was characteristic of her attentive hospitality.

The room was very comfortable, with everything necessary for a pleasant stay, and the setting is quiet and calm. Breakfast was exactly as I wished, and I felt well looked after.

On the morning I left, Anne drove me to the city centre, so I could get a bus to the airport. After I had had to return to the b & b to retrieve my tickets and passports (and rearrange my flight back to Auckland). Anne offered immediately to take me back to the city, so I could catch my connections, and minimise the disruptions of my own carelessness. I was touched by her repeated acts of kindness.

I would recommend Tealmere Grove without hesitation. Finally, don't forget to ask about the bush path shortcut, and if you are keen on horses, about their daughter's equestrian centre. Without doubt, I will return to Tealmere Grove, the oasis in Maunu.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
5.0 mi away
Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers
8.0 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
290 reviews
5.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#24 of 34 in Whangarei
35 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
141 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#4 of 34 in Whangarei
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tealmere Grove B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tealmere Grove B&B

Property: Tealmere Grove B&B
Address: 7 Tealmere Grove, Whangarei 0110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is located Close to town, adjacent to a reserve with kilometers of tramping and walking tracks. Absolutely no traffic noise. We are 25 min. from NZ nicest beaches.45Min. From the Bay of Islands. That makes our B&B ideal for daytrips to see Northland. All our bedrooms are with en-suite with King, Queen and king single beds. For the little one there is a cot. The private TV room has Microwave and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing