We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply fantastic!”
Review of Lupton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lupton Lodge
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Simply fantastic!”
Reviewed November 24, 2008

Beautiful location, warm, friendly welcome, first rate breakfasts and lovely stylish rooms - a real treat!

  • Liked — Decor and comfort
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireBruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    37
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
192
13
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2008

Fabulous experience staying at Lupton Lodge! Andy anticipated our needs well providing us with items that were in our lost luggage and helping us get to where we needed to go. Andy's breakfast was the best meal we had during our two week trip throughout the North and South islands. I highly recommend Lupton Lodge to anyone staying in this area of the North island.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cemckeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Lupton Lodge for 2 nights... Wishing it would of been longer. We stayed in nz for 3 and a half weeks, and Lupton Lodge by far was the best place we stayed. From the wonderful greeting from Andy to his great breakfasts, everything was just perfect. We would definetly recommend this B & B to anyone heading into Whangarei. Thanks again Andy for all your assistance with our tours you made our very short stay so enjoyable.

Gene and Kathy Alwood

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kealwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2008

This was one of the best B&B that we stayed at on our 35 days trip.
Very comfortable room and an absolutely delicious breakfast. We also opted for dinner and it was one of the best dinners that we had on our 35 day trip. Andy also advised us on the scenic route to Russell (he was right, the coastal route is a beautiful and easy drive) and other "must see' areas of the north island.

We would highly recommend a stay a this beautiful home.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EddieBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2008

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Lupton Lodge during our honeymoon to New Zealand. After a long day of travelling, we were warmly greeted and felt right at home. Andy was so accommodating - anything he could do to make us feel comfortable, he did. The decor and atmosphere are lovely. And let's talk about the food! My husband took advantage of the delicious breakfasts that were offered. I especially enjoyed the fruit kebabs each morning! We've stayed in a lot of B&B's and the Lupton Lodge, by far, is the best we've ever stayed in!
Brad and Steph
Regina, SK Canada

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Outside of town a bit too far
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank smithskiRegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2008

We spent 3 delightful nights at Lupton Lodge. The location was great for touring the Bay of Islands, scuba diving at Poor Knights Island and sightseeing. "Chef Andy" is a fantastic cook and we enjoyed a hot breakfast every morning and had a gourmet dinner one evening after a long day. Andy was always available to answer questions and even did our laundry while we were sightseeing. We had the gold room and a wonderful nights sleep on the luxurious bed with the windows open.

  • Liked — Host, accommodations and proximity
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PeachtreeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2008

Loved Lupton Lodge. It was our first NZ B & B after a long trip from the US and then the drive up from Auckland airport. Stayed 3 nights and were too tired to eat dinner out two of those nights. Andy doesn't just cook good breakfasts - his dinners were also terrific. The bed was comfortable - a must for us and the garden lovely. In fact, although we stayed at many other places during our nearly 4 weeks of travel, we liked Lupton Lodge the best - it set the standard for all others!

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mid214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangarei
4.6 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#7 of 34 in Whangarei
54 reviews
6.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
5.4 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Pacific Rendezvous
Pacific Rendezvous
#1 of 3 in Tutukaka
626 reviews
5.1 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
6.2 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lupton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lupton Lodge

Property: Lupton Lodge
Address: 555 Ngunguru Road | Glenbervie, Whangarei 0173, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lupton Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired. Stunning boutique accommodation located only 10 minutes drive from the spectacular Tutukaka Coast and Whangarei city centre shops and restaurants. Stylish ensuite rooms, gourmet breakfast & free wireless internet. We offer a relaxed atmosphere and extensive facilities including: mature dry-stone walled gardens, pool, guest-only dining room for restaurant-style meals (dinner on request), lounge with pool table and DVD library. The rooms are in a category II listed historic villa and a modern converted barn. Each room is designed for privacy and comfort with contemporary uncomplicated decor, ensuite bathroom, comfortable queen or king beds, bathrobes, 32" flat-screen TV, DVD player, Freeview, heat-pump/air-con and tea/coffee. The rooms are intimate yet spacious. In keeping with a boutique hotel, the rooms are located in guest only buildings, separate from the owners accommodation. The villa rooms have rich wall colours, high ceilings, sash windows and polished Kauri floors. The villa has 3 double ensuite rooms including a suite (which can sleep up to 3 persons). The renovated barn includes a stunning ensuite room upstairs with apex ceilings. Downstairs is a large studio with kitchenette & bi-fold doors opening to a patio/BBQ area. These can be individual rooms or a 2-bedroom apartment with an interconnecting door. Enjoy the many local attractions or just sit back and unwind. 5 mins from Whangarei Falls, 1 hour to the Bay of Islands and 2 hours north of Auckland - ideal for exploring Northland and as your first or last stop in NZ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lupton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing