We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place near Whangerei!”
Review of Lupton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lupton Lodge
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
873 reviews
485 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Great place near Whangerei!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Located just outside town with a narrow, almost missed driveway! Beautiful property with well appointed rooms and great wifi. We had dinner and breakfast in the B&B and both were delicious. Room was a spacious with a desk area and lots of seating, very comfortable. A lovely quiet, peaceful spot with a great host. Would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDYCHEF, Owner at Lupton Lodge, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thankyou for your great review - it is really excellent for us to have such good feedback from such regular travellers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    37
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
186
13
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Lovely, quiet, clean place. Run by a nice guy who was the best cook, the food was all really good and reasonably priced. Not a cheap weekend but could not complain about anything and will recommend for a couples get away anytime.

Room Tip: He gave us a choice on arrival so see for yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDYCHEF, Owner at Lupton Lodge, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thanks for your great review - glad you had such a good weekend away
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

this was a bit of a wait and see situation; were staying in a converted barn she said... the animals never had it so good. the interior is transformed into a high quality apartment style accommodation. first class. having 2 separate apartments with adjoining door makes it perfect for two couple sot have privacy when required. highly recommended... you couldn't fault the service, the standard, nor the value for money.

Room Tip: book early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor-TJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDYCHEF, Owner at Lupton Lodge, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thanks for the great review - we were delighted to get such great feedback about our newly renovated barn conversion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed here one night but thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We really can't fault this place. It is very good value for money with excellent service. We stayed in the blue room. The house is lovely with everything you need to make your stay comfortable, including lots of little extras like nice toiletries, tv/dvd in room, tea/coffee facilities with fresh milk and homemade slice in room. We also enjoyed a game of eightball in the guest lounge and would of got in the pool had it been better weather. We also made use of the dinner service as per other reviews on here and were not disappointed. Andy is a talented cook serving us beautifully cooked salmon and creme brulee. The breakfast was also very nice. We highly recommend this place and hope to return in the future.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LabRat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDYCHEF, Owner at Lupton Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thanks for your wonderful review, so glad you enjoyed your short stay !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I stayed for one night whilst I was working away....beautiful place and very comfortable. Huge bed and room and was even given the adjoining room to use if I needed. My own verandah and use of the dvds in-room was great. I turned up later and still had a warm welcome. Pool looked inviting but didn't manage to make it in! Breakfast was incredible! Highly recommend the eggs benedict

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Nadine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDYCHEF, Owner at Lupton Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Really appreciate your review and hope to see you next time you are in the area !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2014

What a wonderful place Lupton Lodge is. A very warm welcome received from Andy and what a fantastic chef he is. Glad we accepted the offer to have dinner there as well as breakfast as the food was excellent. After dinner we entertained ourselves in the games room with a few games of Pool. There is also a small swimming pool alongside the games room with towels provided. Our room (the Red room) was very comfortable with nice furnishings and even had a separate sitting/dressing room. The little tray of Lolly Cake (I think that is what they call it in NZ) left on the bedside table for us to enjoy was a nice touch. Could have eaten more though Andy, it was so delicious. Good Wifi connection. We fell in Love with this place as it is so full of character inside and out with lovely gardens, acres of space and wonderful hosts. Unfortunately we only got to stay one night as it was a half way point from Auckland Airport to The Bay of Islands. We definitely would recommend Lupton Lodge as the place to stay for this area.
Bob and Geraldine (UK)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ged20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDYCHEF, Owner at Lupton Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thankyou so much for your great review - we hope to see you again one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

At home reflecting on our Whangarei week-end experience.
Lupton House was built in 1896, this stunning luxury boutique B n B is only a 10 minute drive from Whangarei and the spectacular Tutukaka coast and beaches to die for.
Set in 9 acres of farmland surrounded by dry-stone walls.
We chose the “Blue Room” for our stay and in no way we were disappointed, a mix of old and contemporary styles blend to allow a feeling of the past and future.
Being an owner operator of an exclusive boutique accommodation property we must be the hardest guests to please BUT Lupton House ticked all the boxes on every level.
I cannot put all my thoughts in just one review and would suggest you have a look at their website.
After a swim in the pool, a glass of RED on the deck enjoying the relaxing atmosphere, time for dinner. YES you are able to pre-book with Andy for an evening meal and would suggest you do so. Andy is a fantastic chef. Hence we were looking forward to the next morning’s breakfast and we were not disappointed.
I feel that it is best not to tell you all as really would like you to experience Lupton House for yourself
Once again thank you Karen and Andy and keep up the excellent work.
Jude and John [NZ} .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LASTANZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDYCHEF, Owner at Lupton Lodge, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hi 'LASTANZA', thankyou so much for your review; it is really so great for us to get such awesome feedback from fellow B&B/Boutique Accommodation owners, it means a lot to us. Hope to see you again one day !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangarei
5.1 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
5.4 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
6.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Pacific Rendezvous
Pacific Rendezvous
#1 of 3 in Tutukaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#8 of 34 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lupton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lupton Lodge

Property: Lupton Lodge
Address: 555 Ngunguru Road | Glenbervie, Whangarei 0173, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lupton Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired. Stunning boutique accommodation located only 10 minutes drive from the spectacular Tutukaka Coast and Whangarei city centre shops and restaurants. Stylish ensuite rooms, gourmet breakfast & free wireless internet. We offer a relaxed atmosphere and extensive facilities including: mature dry-stone walled gardens, pool, guest-only dining room for restaurant-style meals (dinner on request), lounge with pool table and DVD library. The rooms are in a category II listed historic villa and a modern converted barn. Each room is designed for privacy and comfort with contemporary uncomplicated decor, ensuite bathroom, comfortable queen or king beds, bathrobes, 32" flat-screen TV, DVD player, Freeview, heat-pump/air-con and tea/coffee. The rooms are intimate yet spacious. In keeping with a boutique hotel, the rooms are located in guest only buildings, separate from the owners accommodation. The villa rooms have rich wall colours, high ceilings, sash windows and polished Kauri floors. The villa has 3 double ensuite rooms including a suite (which can sleep up to 3 persons). The renovated barn includes a stunning ensuite room upstairs with apex ceilings. Downstairs is a large studio with kitchenette & bi-fold doors opening to a patio/BBQ area. These can be individual rooms or a 2-bedroom apartment with an interconnecting door. Enjoy the many local attractions or just sit back and unwind. 5 mins from Whangarei Falls, 1 hour to the Bay of Islands and 2 hours north of Auckland - ideal for exploring Northland and as your first or last stop in NZ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lupton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing