We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic House with Gourmet Dinner”
Review of Lupton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lupton Lodge
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

After checking out accomodation in the area for a one night stopover,Lupton Lodge caught my eye because it is gluten free friendly.
After driving thru New Zealands fantastic scenery for hours its great to know that you can have a home cooked meal waiting for you.
Upon arrival Andy greeted us in bare feet and a warm smile.This is the norm in NZ and I kinda like the feel of the wooden floors under foot.
The blue room was wonderful and smelled very fresh and clean,we were the only occupants that rainy night so Andy opened up the ajoining room for more space.
I really enjoyed the history of the house,built in 1896 and transported from its original place some 7km away.The decoration is very modern with an historical feel and all the mod cons you need in luxury boutique accomodation.
We had decided to dine at 7pm and pre ordered our selection a few days before.The dining area was set for two with candles and a good selection of wine,with soft music playing in the background.
We felt like lord and lady of the manor.
WOW! what an amazing dinner, the lambshank was wonderful, and the soup exceptional,how could I resist the GF desserts,excellant.
This place is a true gem,thanks for a wondeful stay on a cold and rainy night.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delph17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDYCHEF, Owner at Lupton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Hi there - Thankyou so much for your great review, and nice to know you are still thinking of your stay several months later !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
There are newer reviews for Lupton Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 293 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed one night only ..was met by Andy and shown around.. The Lodge is out of this world...peaceful surroundings..rural outlook.We stayed in the Red Room ..the furnishings are of the highest standard.There is plenty to do at the lodge ...swimming pool lounge with pool table...great library of DVDS...CDS...and Books ...to take to your room ..The dinner which was preordered was of the highest class...the breakfast in the morning was great.Andy made you feel at home ..he was there to help if required but left you alone ..if you know what I mean really great host.The food was of the highest standard and we would recommend this place to anyone and would stay again if we are travelling in the Whangarei area

Room Tip: We stayed in the red Room
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwigaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDYCHEF, Owner at Lupton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Hi Ray
Thankyou very much for your review and so glad you enjoyed everything so much. Hope you had a good and safe journey home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

each day there were homemade traybakes left in your room. beds really comfy. lots of space in the bed rooms. pool area outside and wifi area ideal. Tutukaka and Ngunguru near by, by car restaurants here to eat - salt air cafe (fresh fish cooked here). Tranquil location. The hosts could not do enough for you. beautiful filling breakfasts and evening meals on request. great value for money and a relaxing place to stay. some rooms do not have en suit - use a shared bathroom down the hall way. exceptional place to stay - would definitely have no hesitation to recommend for others

Room Tip: all rooms beautiful. one with en suit should be requested saves a trip down the hall for a shower
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 000Diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDYCHEF, Owner at Lupton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Hi,
Thankyou for your great review, it is really appreciated.
Since the date of your stay, our property has undergone quite significant improvements and renovations, and one of the major upgrades is that all of our rooms now have ensuite bathrooms.

Best Regards
Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Enjoyed every minute we spent at Lupton Lodge, Andy's hospitality was beyond excellent. The lodge is in great proximity to Poor Knights Island which was fantastic for scuba diving. The property is manicured well in a country type setting, complete with animals grazing on site. In addition to Andy being a phenomenal cook, his assistance with our itinerary made the trip a memorable one. We highly recommend staying here and absolutely plan on visiting again in the near future. We spent two nights at the lodge in October 2008.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PalletKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed there twice (one in the red room and once in the blue room) and both times were exceptional. Service is excellent and the owners are very friendly and welcoming. Definitely recommend this lodge

Room Tip: Any room is great
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roborhodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Lupton Lodge was a FANTASTIC place to stay on our one month honeymoon/exploration of New Zealand in December. We stayed there for only one night (I REALLY wish we had made the time to stay for longer), but it was HIGHLY memorable. We arrived there after 2 days of diving, and Andy was a FANTASTIC host. I recommend having dinner there, as he is an amazing cook. And the room we stayed in was gorgeous - luxurious, full of character, and possibly the most comfortable bed we slept on all month. Breakfast was fantastic as well - really delicious. My husband and I were both REALLY happy with the place, the hosts, the food, the room, it was all just lovely. Wish we had stayed longer . . .

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The host was very helpful. The place was more beautiful than the pictures we saw online would lead you to believe. Very high ceilings, beautiful wood floors, lovely furnishings. Really nice place. We had a flat tire on a national holiday and our host Andy went above and beyond by getting someone at the car rental place to come in and give us a new vehicle even though they were closed. We had dinner there and the meal was excellent. We had never had dinner at a B&B and this was gourmet restaurant level cooking. This place is on the outskirts of Whangarei and wasn't near restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangarei
6.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
9.3 mi away
Pacific Rendezvous
Pacific Rendezvous
#1 of 3 in Tutukaka
640 reviews
5.4 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
4.6 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#7 of 34 in Whangarei
54 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lupton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lupton Lodge

Address: 555 Ngunguru Road | Glenbervie, Whangarei 0173, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range: $96 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lupton Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired. Stunning boutique accommodation located only 10 minutes drive from the spectacular Tutukaka Coast and Whangarei city centre shops and restaurants. Stylish ensuite rooms, gourmet breakfast & free wireless internet. We offer a relaxed atmosphere and extensive facilities including: mature dry-stone walled gardens, pool, guest-only dining room for restaurant-style meals (dinner on request), lounge with pool table and DVD library. The rooms are in a category II listed historic villa and a modern converted barn. Each room is designed for privacy and comfort with contemporary uncomplicated decor, ensuite bathroom, comfortable queen or king beds, bathrobes, 32" flat-screen TV, DVD player, Freeview, heat-pump/air-con and tea/coffee. The rooms are intimate yet spacious. In keeping with a boutique hotel, the rooms are located in guest only buildings, separate from the owners accommodation. The villa rooms have rich wall colours, high ceilings, sash windows and polished Kauri floors. The villa has 3 double ensuite rooms including a suite (which can sleep up to 3 persons). The renovated barn includes a stunning ensuite room upstairs with apex ceilings. Downstairs is a large studio with kitchenette & bi-fold doors opening to a patio/BBQ area. These can be individual rooms or a 2-bedroom apartment with an interconnecting door. Enjoy the many local attractions or just sit back and unwind. 5 mins from Whangarei Falls, 1 hour to the Bay of Islands and 2 hours north of Auckland - ideal for exploring Northland and as your first or last stop in NZ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lupton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing