We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lupton Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lupton Lodge to your Saves list
Lupton Lodge
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   555 Ngunguru Road | Glenbervie, Whangarei 0173, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Hosts are very helpful and friendly. We stayed in the gold room. Very nice. House is beautifully furnished and breakfast is great. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristchurchKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    31
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
149
10
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This property is about 10 minutes outside of the tourist center of Whangarei and a similar distance from Tutukaka. Getting to either is very easy. We stayed in the Red Room, a free upgrade because other guests wanted the (cheaper) room we had booked because it had a bathtub. Lucky us! We had two attractive large & comfortable rooms and our own bathroom, deck, and garden. Enough room to unpack and store the suitcases! The property is set back from the road behind trees and a garden and is completely quiet. We were in Whangarei so my husband could dive on Poor Knights Island. There were towels for him to bring on the dive and for me to use in the lovely pool on the property or to bring to the beach. We had dinner two nights at Lupton Lodge--a real treat and less expensive than places of similar quality to which we would have had to drive. Andy was able to accommodate my dairy-free diet both at breakfast and at dinner, which I discovered isn't easy in NZ. He also did laundry for us for $5NZ, which we found incredibly reasonable in our later NZ travels. We were able to hang wet dive gear & bathing suits on the line in the back. We enjoyed our conversations with Andy and Karen and their two young daughters. In short, this is a great place to stay with terrific hosts.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jct263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed in the Red Room, which is well equipped, spacious, comforatble and quiet. We were still rather jet lagged and therefore booked dinner at the Lodge rather than driving into Whangarei. Our host, Andy, provided an excellent dinner, and breakfast the following morning was equally good.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike-Bucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here 2 nights a week for several months with work. I would like to commend Andy and his wife on the great job they have done with the tasteful restoration of the beautiful colonial style home. I was lucky to stay in every room during my stint and thought each had it's own personal charm and were all very comfortable. I would recommend this b&b to anyone wanting to stay in the lovely whangarei stone-walled countryside in a tasteful and elegant setting. Highly recommended. Especially Andy's cooking!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BridieCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

we spent one night at the lupton lodge in the red room. we found this accomodation in the b&b book we picked up at the airport and is was as excellent as it had promised in there:
fabulous huge room with extra sofa + extra room + big bathroom. Andy was a perfect host. He not only took us in during a game was on, but in addition offered to do our laundry which we got back dry and folded for a single charge.
breakfast was GOURMET! after travelling for 3 months we still have to say it was the best we ever got!
The place is beautiful. spacious, away from any noise but still close enough to the town of whangarei and a supermarket.
It's also most conveniently located if one wants to take a look at the waterfalls nearby. they are actually worth a look!
We didn't miss anything and were glad about the free wifi and the excellent value of the whole deal.
We highly recommend this B&B

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosman, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

You cannot go past this place if you’re in the region. It is positioned on a large property outside the main town so provides peace and quiet. Andy is a fantastic host and will provide all the local knowledge required to get the most out of your trip.
Make sure you include a dive at 'Poor Knights island'. If your nice, Andy will back you a fantastic lunch to take out.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Lovely retreat, excellent hospitality with fabulous ambiance , what else a couple would need?
In short, THE right location within Whangarei...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SINGYOAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
4.6 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#12 of 35 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
5.0 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel
Discovery Settlers Hotel
#14 of 35 in Whangarei
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
6.7 mi away
Flames International Hotel
Flames International Hotel
#18 of 35 in Whangarei
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
4.9 mi away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#3 of 35 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 35 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lupton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lupton Lodge

Property: Lupton Lodge
Address: 555 Ngunguru Road | Glenbervie, Whangarei 0173, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lupton Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired. Stunning boutique accommodation located only 10 minutes drive from the spectacular Tutukaka Coast and Whangarei city centre shops and restaurants. Stylish ensuite rooms, gourmet breakfast & free wireless internet. We offer a relaxed atmosphere and extensive facilities including: mature dry-stone walled gardens, pool, guest-only dining room for restaurant-style meals (dinner on request), lounge with pool table and DVD library. The rooms are in a category II listed historic villa and a modern converted barn. Each room is designed for privacy and comfort with contemporary uncomplicated decor, ensuite bathroom, comfortable queen or king beds, bathrobes, 32" flat-screen TV, DVD player, Freeview, heat-pump/air-con and tea/coffee. The rooms are intimate yet spacious. In keeping with a boutique hotel, the rooms are located in guest only buildings, separate from the owners accommodation. The villa rooms have rich wall colours, high ceilings, sash windows and polished Kauri floors. The villa has 3 double ensuite rooms including a suite (which can sleep up to 3 persons). The renovated barn includes a stunning ensuite room upstairs with apex ceilings. Downstairs is a large studio with kitchenette & bi-fold doors opening to a patio/BBQ area. These can be individual rooms or a 2-bedroom apartment with an interconnecting door. Enjoy the many local attractions or just sit back and unwind. 5 mins from Whangarei Falls, 1 hour to the Bay of Islands and 2 hours north of Auckland - ideal for exploring Northland and as your first or last stop in NZ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Lupton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing