We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“If you have a car, this is an excellent choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lupton Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lupton Lodge
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you have a car, this is an excellent choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Due to the location of the Lupton Lodge, you need to have a car to stay here. We were in town for some diving and thought that this was a great choice of places to stay. Whangarei didn't seem like anything we needed to be in the center of, so we drove to the coast for some diving, drove into town for some dinner and then returned to Lupton Lodge. The grounds are great and we made fast friends with the resident cow. Andy was SUPER nice and made us a yummy breakfast to start our day. The house has a lot of character and we enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    31
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
152
10
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Tring
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

We arrived on a very wet night to a very warm welcome and a wonderful evening meal.
Our room was spacious and the en-suite likewise. Breakfasts were a feast in themselves and eaten in a dining room furnished with most attractive wood.Typical of our welcome was the use of the library, the free internet and the helpfulness of Andy when planning journeys.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandGTring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Andy was a great host, very welcoming and friendly.
The room was beautifully decorated. Spent about 5 mins taking in how amazing it looked.
The location is perfect, only a short drive out of town on a gorgeous piece of land.
There are dvds, cds, a pool and a pool table, dining room, ensuite, robes, hammock etc etc... everything you could want.
The only thing we didnt like was leaving :)
Will definately see you again one day Andy and hopefully meet Karen too.

Room Tip: All rooms are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peachy6584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at Lupton Lodge many times now. It is always one of the highlights of our business trips around New Zealand - so much so that if no rooms are available for our planned dates, we re-arrange our itinerary to make sure that we can stay there.

Andy is always so welcoming and helpful - he knows a lot about what there is to see and do in the area. Even though we are always visiting on a working trip, when we get to Lupton Lodge we feel like we are on holiday. We have had some opportunities for local excursions too and Andy was very obliging with helping to organise those.

If you are visiting Whangarei on business or pleasure, you really should try Lupton. It's only 10 minutes out of town and on the road to the Tutukaka coast. The rooms are very tastefully appointed and breakfast is fabulous - the Lupton Special, yum!! Andy is a great cook so you don't even have to go in to Whangarei for dinner - just pre-arrange if you do want dinner.

Staying at Lupton is so much more personal than a run-of-the-mill motel/hotel. I can't imagine anyone being disappointed unless they actually like sterile hotels - you wont get that at Lupton Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HookedOnTravel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

My wife and I were touring Northland with our daughter and son in law. We decided to stay in Whangarei on our way up to Russell from Auckland. What an excellent place to stay to break up the journey. The accommodation facilities which included a swimming pool and games room along with the food were excellent. The fruit for breakfast was picked from their own orchard which we spent time wandering through. The building itself is an attraction. We would not hesitate in recommending Lupton Lodge as a place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CreoCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

This boutique accommodation is situated in mature gardens a few kilometres out of Whangarei. We were met by the proprietor, Andy (formerly from England) who gave us a warm welcome and provided a guided tour of the establishment. Our room (the blue room) was clean and well equipped with all you could need for a short stay. Andy provided a lovely evening meal (at extra cost) which was much appreciated. He appears to thoroughly enjoy his culinary skills.

Although a small swimming pool exists, we didn’t use it due to persistent rain, but we did use the games room for a few hours that contains a ¾ size snooker/pool table, CDs, DVDs and a library. This offered a welcome retreat in the evenings when rain stopped play elsewhere.

Aware that we were to take the toll road back to Auckland, our host kindly looked after the toll fee online for us which removed any hassle during our trip. That was helpful.

All in all, it’s a thumbs up to Lupton Lodge. If you’re looking for a decent B&B and a kind host, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warrior151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Qld
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

While attending a school reunion at Kamo High School, I wanted somewhere close but not a "city motel". Lupton is only 10 minutes from Kamo but in a world of it's own in the countryside. Evenings are quiet and days are lovely with garden grounds including flowers, fruit trees and roaming very fluffy chooks (have to be seen!).
Even though the evenings are nice, it's the mornings you'll be looking foward to. The breakfasts cover fruit kebabs, cereals, toasts and preseves, muffins, yogurt, fruit juice and your selection of one of three fantastic cooked to order hot savoury dishes. We were there for 4 nights so were able to sample each and then pick a favourite for our last day.
In our case, the availability of evening meals (providing some advance notice) was another plus, with two of our evenings having the most wonderful two course meals cooked by Andy - who offered menu choices of surprising variety. I'm sure the sight and smell of our meals convinced at least one other couple (who had just checked in) to request dinner the following night.
The free wireless internet extended to our room at the front, which is still not as common a feature as it should be, but can always be used in the games room (a seperate building, adding to the peace in the main house) where a PC is also provided for those travelling without mobile computing..
The games room had an extensive collection of DVDs, including some New Zealand films that I had not seen before (and I'm an ex-kiwi who thought he kept ín touch with such things). The pool table provided another pleasant activity which we normally wouldn't have sought out as a B&B feature but was great fun.
The pool looked very inviting, but was still a bit too cold for us accustomed to Queensland temperatures.
The location assisted us with proximity to town and allowed us also to explore the Russell peninsular and Tutukaka coast - with recommendations from Andy and Karen to make the most of those journeys.
Lupton Lodge provided the convenience of being in the right place, a refuge to come home to for peaceful evenings, enjoyable entertainment options, friendly helpful hosts and the memorable food that may well lead us back there one day.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twofoodiesau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
5.0 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel
Discovery Settlers Hotel
#14 of 35 in Whangarei
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
6.7 mi away
Flames International Hotel
Flames International Hotel
#18 of 35 in Whangarei
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#11 of 35 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#3 of 35 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 35 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
4.8 mi away
Burgundy Rose Motel
Burgundy Rose Motel
#5 of 35 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lupton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lupton Lodge

Property: Lupton Lodge
Address: 555 Ngunguru Road | Glenbervie, Whangarei 0173, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lupton Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired. Stunning boutique accommodation located only 10 minutes drive from the spectacular Tutukaka Coast and Whangarei city centre shops and restaurants. Stylish ensuite rooms, gourmet breakfast & free wireless internet. We offer a relaxed atmosphere and extensive facilities including: mature dry-stone walled gardens, pool, guest-only dining room for restaurant-style meals (dinner on request), lounge with pool table and DVD library. The rooms are in a category II listed historic villa and a modern converted barn. Each room is designed for privacy and comfort with contemporary uncomplicated decor, ensuite bathroom, comfortable queen or king beds, bathrobes, 32" flat-screen TV, DVD player, Freeview, heat-pump/air-con and tea/coffee. The rooms are intimate yet spacious. In keeping with a boutique hotel, the rooms are located in guest only buildings, separate from the owners accommodation. The villa rooms have rich wall colours, high ceilings, sash windows and polished Kauri floors. The villa has 3 double ensuite rooms including a suite (which can sleep up to 3 persons). The renovated barn includes a stunning ensuite room upstairs with apex ceilings. Downstairs is a large studio with kitchenette & bi-fold doors opening to a patio/BBQ area. These can be individual rooms or a 2-bedroom apartment with an interconnecting door. Enjoy the many local attractions or just sit back and unwind. 5 mins from Whangarei Falls, 1 hour to the Bay of Islands and 2 hours north of Auckland - ideal for exploring Northland and as your first or last stop in NZ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Lupton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing