We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riverside Cafe”
Review of Riverside Cafe

Riverside Cafe
Ranked #22 of 132 Restaurants in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $20
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Riverside Cafe”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Has been there a long time and is well patronised. Food is good and prices reasonable. I had the clam chowder and really enjoyed it. Others in my group enjoyed their meals as well. Service is good and there is covered seating outside. Located in the picturesque Town Basin with good view of boats nearby. Interesting shops in this little cluster. Riverside walk nearby is pleasant and improving.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Owner at Riverside Cafe, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hi Adrian - thanks for your feedback. we're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    58
    14
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Good place for a break when travelling North”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Went visit some friends in the Bay of Islands from Auckland and decided to stop for coffee and cakes in Whangarei.
Easy to follow the signs to the Town Basin and plenty of free parking with clean toilets.
Several Cafes to choose from so just the luck of the draw we went into Riverside Café.
Good selection of cabinet food at average prices. The coffee was great, well done the barista who knows how to make a flat white without half a cup of foam on the top.
There was a good selection of meals but we did not try any.

All in all a good place to have a break on a journey north.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank waiheke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Owner at Riverside Cafe, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Good morning - the Town Basin is a great stopping off point on the way North and all of us in Whangarei appreciate visitors dropping - we've now just got to find a way to encourage more visitors to stay a while and enjoy the beauty of the local, beaches, forests, walks, the scuba diving, fishing and tramping. Thanks for your feedback - it was great to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Good food and great location”
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Never been to the town before and just passing through so stopped at the basin for a break. We both had clam chowder which was very good and the location was ideal. I don't know what the other cafés are like at the basin but the whole site was great to visit with colonial style buildings, craft shops, super boats and an ideal place to take a break.

We had a quick look round the town centre which was relatively boring and was the usual 'me too' place.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Uppermilden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Owner at Riverside Cafe, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Hi there - thanks for your recent visit and glad that you enjoyed yourself at both Riverside Cafe and the Town Basin. It's an exciting place to visit and spend a bit of time while in Whangarei and it's a great place to work too!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei Heads, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great place to have a coffee!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I love going to the Town Basin on the waterfront and I love to pop into Riverside Cafe for a coffee or lunch with friends. They have outdoor seating so it's great on beautiful, sunny days! The service is always great and friendly.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ijoymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Owner at Riverside Cafe, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thanks for your feedback - really appreciate it. Regular customers are our lifeblood, thanks again. Anna and Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Great service and excellenct setting”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a lovely breakfast on the 8/01/2014. Extra Sausages and the attention to the changes we made on the pancakes was appreciated. Thank you Anna and Justin you have done a great job with the café and we look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Owner at Riverside Cafe, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thanks Kaye - glad you had a great time and look forward to seeing you and yours soonest. Cheers Justin and Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverside Cafe also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Riverside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing