We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth coming to”
Review of Columbus Cafe

Columbus Cafe
Ranked #9 of 15 Quick Bites in Whangarei
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 21, 2020

Had a Mac n Cheese today. It was terrible. Absolutely solid. The fork would not go into it. Seemed it had been heated to the state of being solid.
This place used to be great and we were in there a couple of times a week. It gets worse every time. We leave it a few weeks and try again but worse not better. we were going to complain but the way the owner walks around he would not have cared.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank O796GNjeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 36 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2019 via mobile

Came here with my 7 year old. Lots of choice in the cabinet and from the menu, staff were very friendly and the place was nice and clean. Food came out quickly and was incredible! Amazing eggs benedict, the nicest ice chocolate I have ever had and my son loved his generous sized sausage roll and brownie. Will definitely be returning, what a great experience!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Kara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2019

I took the family here thinking that it would be a convenient lunch option on a raining shopping day. The whole experience was desultory. With prices this expensive ($19.50 for very ordinary waffles!) you'd expect table service, but you have to queue up out the door into Mitre 10, from which you can't see the blackboard menu or cabinet, so by the time you get to the counter you feel really rushed to make choices for the family. The staff all look like they're on anti-depressants and there's not a smile to be seen. The acoustics are so poor that the babble is intense and we can hardly hear each other. The coffee is average. My 'corn stack' looks okay on a photograph but was quite small and utterly tasteless. And worse: I almost broke my tooth on a hazelnut shell that was carelessly thrown onto the plate with a small spray of nuts. If this place was run with a bit of joy and enthusiasm, culinary expertise and care and the acoustics were treated for sound, it could be really nice.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank beautmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2019 via mobile

Columbus is a handy spot for a shopping stop. Good for acoustics. However it’s a pity the staff cannot smile. Was it the owner who was on tables ... whatever... there was a lot on his mind with not enough room to show good hospitality skills.
Don’t expect a gourmet experience. A serving of 2.5-3 cops of potato and egg salad in a bowl looking gluggy or maybe $17for a green salad with chicken and feta ? Not a lot to get excited about !

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank ChristineS6319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2019 via mobile

Lovely fresh food and friendly staff in a wonderful atmosphere. Very popular cafe with the locals. Scones are huge and tasty and generous portions of all other offerings

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank TraceyA1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbus Cafe also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Columbus Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing