We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25 th wedding anniversary ”
Review of Gengy's

Gengy's
Ranked #31 of 131 Restaurants in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $21
Cuisines: Mongolian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A Mongolian style BBQ buffet restaurant. Try different combinations of meats, sauces and other fresh ingredients! Pancakes and ice-cream for desert.
1 review
“25 th wedding anniversary ”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

very good they went out of there way to show us round lovely food lovely service all with a smile !!!

Helpful?
Thank Martyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    21
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great place to eat!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

One of the nicest places I have been. I loved the idea of mixing your own flavours and enjoyed watching the skill of the chefs! Definitely worth the five star review!

Helpful?
Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great new dining experience”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I just loved it. Didn't know what to expect. Liked the chance to select the ingredients and watch the Chefs' skills.
Our group with ages ranging from 12 - 86yrs all enjoyed the selections, quality and presentation.
There was a great family atmosphere and especially when the chefs drummed out "Happy Birthday" for a celebrant.
Will definitely try out Gengy's at other venues as we travel.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 70yoKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“birthday treat”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

we had a lovely dinner which was free for the birthday girl and the staff sang happy birthday nice touch

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good if you like a lot of food”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I understand why people love this place, you get to choose your own meats and flavours and eat as much as you like, however the idea of standing in line for a meal on a night out doesn't appeal to me. My favourite part was the crepe bar for desert as I just love crepes.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hayley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gengy's also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Gengy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing