We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“White sand forever”
Review of Ruakaka Beach

Ruakaka Beach
Ranked #13 of 54 things to do in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“White sand forever”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

This has got to be one of the best beaches ever! So close, unspoiled, no high rises, just the sound of surf and fresh sea air. Spent my youth at this beach and still love that it has not become another surfers paradise!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    25
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ruakaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“we worth a visit”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Lovely sandy beach, just perfect for a nice long walk and during the week free of noisy groups and vehicles

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ruakakakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Words out I guess.”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Drats! So close to Auckland yet so not. Hope the invasion can be averted. What a beautiful place to forget about everything for abit, whats with that gorgeous riverside that you barely know is there? It was the quiet season on my visit so I left the place rested and better for having been there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tjp2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful White Sandy Beach, with rolling surf”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Long White sandy beach with rolling surf, great for the boogie boarders. Life guards on duty in summer. You don't have to be sitting on top of one another like some beaches closer to Auckland.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nanashazza2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot to travel to”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Ruakaka beach, lovely beach with Waves that amaze you. On the coast following the incredible crystal clear waters of Marsden Point. I am very fond of this beach as for Whanagarei being my childhood memories. The sand here is particularly pure also, unique location to be.

ruakaka camping ground: http://www.motorcamp.co.nz/

more:
•Marsden Point Oil Refinery
•Port Marsden
•Ruakaka Racecourse
•Marsden Bay marina and boating facilities
•One Tree Point beaches and community
•Playground in site the holiday camp.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Particularwhynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruakaka Beach also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Ruakaka Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing