We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Whangarei Falls

Whangarei Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,439.35*
and up
Private Tour: 5-Day Auckland and Bay of Islands Trip
Ranked #2 of 57 things to do in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Burton-on-Trent
Level Contributor
643 reviews
254 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is described as being the most-photographed falls in New Zealand. They are very photogenic. We were advised to see the falls from a viewpoint overlooking them before heading down to cross over and walk down to the base of the falls to take more photographs. We then had the steep slog back up to the car park. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GerMar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    363
    60
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Whangarei falls”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Easy drive to reach this spot, well signposted. Nice walk to reach the falls and boarded walk beyond.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tergyficks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Wish we would had read more about it and walked further. Its a must do and see a light of our trip to the northland.

Helpful?
Thank Cami N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome, hidden gem”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Whilst it may not be Niagara in size, I was amazed at how great the place is. The falls are significant and the surroundings are beautiful. There is a picnic area at the base of the falls which is tranquil and relaxing. It is prone to flooding after periods of intense rain so if you want to picnic in the best spot I would give a few days after any torrential downpours to allow time for the water to subside. The surrounding park area is large and very accessible.

The base of the falls would be difficult to access for those with significant mobility issues, however there is a viewing platform at the top and ample areas to picnic there so still worth a trip.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Macker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Magnificent falls”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Enjoyable walks are all around the falls, you can view from both the top or (after a bit of a walk) the bottom - and it's free.
Great stop off north of Whangarei on the road to Tutakaka.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank SteveJxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whangarei Falls also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Whangarei Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing