We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to relax. Peaceful and very private. I felt rejuvenated at the end of my stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ara Roa Accommodation - Whangarei Heads
Whangarei
1 review
“A perfect place to relax. Peaceful and very private. I felt rejuvenated at the end of my stay!”
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Ara Roa was like a haven in a storm for me. I stayed for almost a month. Plenty of room for visitors and set in a private and beautiful part of NZ and surrounded by native bush. I strongly recommend that people stay here. FANTASTIC!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stormclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
33
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

We discovered Ara Roa via the Internet while leaving in Hong Kong. We were looking for a quiet place not too crowded and somehow different from the Asia region.
We booked our holidays some months in advance and It took some time to flydown there, but when we finally arrived, we saw the wondefull house, the unique view to the ocean, the incredible sunset, and a beautiful nothern region.
It is certainly the best place we have visited so far. Thanks to Susanne, Paul their family and friends, they gave us their heart and we miss them a lot now that we are back in Europe.
It is just a matter of time before we find a way to go back to our paradise on hearth.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Portenaouac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2010

I stayed at the Studio at the Ara Roa Lodge last year on a business trip only a few hours out of Auckland. I found the Hosts very professional and very welcoming.
It was a very pleasant stay as I was close to town but set in the bush and not far from the sea.

As a frequent traveller I would recommend Ara Roa to anyone as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mranderson2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We thought because we had stayed at the Guest House previously - about two years earlier - that we would have no trouble finding it again! While we had perfect recall of just how lovely the place is and how magnificent the views are, we were surprised that our memory for the way there was so deficient! Nevertheless, once we were on the right track, an accommodating cow lead us up the rest of the way. Once at the Guest House, we were in our own little bit of heaven. The House is relaxed and cosy and perfectly kitted out for a week's stay. Paul and Susanne are excellent hosts and ensure the house is warm and welcoming. We spent hours walking the property and getting to know the horses, cattle and chickens - much to the joy of our young daughter. It was a wrench to leave the place and come back down to earth!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Businessclassbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2010

From the moment you set your sight on the gorgeous house and breathtaking views, you know you are in heaven. The house is beautifully designed and appointed with great attention to detail, including heated underfloor tiling in the bathroom and lovely white robes hanging in the closets to use. There are lovely walks and beaches nearby to explore and lakes to canoe in but frankly we just didn't want to leave the house. There was a good selection of games, DVDs and books on hand if you wanted to take a break from looking at the captivating views. The hosts Paul and Suzanne and their children were very hospitable and friendly, even sending us a plate of freshly caught fish to cook on the BBQ the first night and showing us their pet horse and lamb. This place was the highlight of our holiday in New Zealand and we hope to return but will book a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nodd68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2010

Ara roa is such a perfect get-away location with its stunning views, quiet bush surroundings and luxury accommodation. It is such a gorgeous part of the country and has the best of all worlds; close beaches both for safe swimming or for the adventurous surfer or body boarder, beautiful bush walks to suit all levels and town not a far drive away. The accommodation was clean and modern in a nice open plan studio with everything provided. It is so quiet that you get the best sleeps ever and wake up to a gorgeous view almost 360 degrees out over the Whangarei Heads. The drinking water tastes great coming from pure filtered rain water. A wonderfully relaxing place to have timeout from a busy lifestyle! Thank you for the great experience.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoracathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2010

It was unforgettable time for my son and myself spending the last days of 2009. The way to Ara Roa was not easy yet it was kind of adventure!
The scenery was just febulous, and we had to explain what we had seen to everybody because it was very different from other places in NZ. This place was cozy and unique. In addition, we had an unforgettable time with the owner's family. My son wanted to stay there for good. THank you once again, all! We will visit you again.
It was totally different world where I could feel adventures, peace, a lot of activities, and kindness.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjaychoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
4.9 mi away
Kauri Villas
Kauri Villas
#1 of 31 in Whangarei
132 reviews
12.7 mi away
Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers
11.5 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
12.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#24 of 34 in Whangarei
35 reviews
13.2 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ara Roa Accommodation - Whangarei Heads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ara Roa Accommodation - Whangarei Heads

Property: Ara Roa Accommodation - Whangarei Heads
Address: 54 Harambee Road | RD1 Onerahi, Whangarei 0192, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome. Ara Roa Unique Accommodation is a collection of very distinctive accommodation properties located along the Whangarei Heads glorious east coast, near the city of Whangarei, Northland. Private and secluded, contemporary and professionally maintained luxury retreats in Northland. Our opinion, and that of many of our guests, is that travelers wishing to explore less exploited destinations will find the best of Northland here. Our range of self contained and serviced properties suit many different purposes such as family vacations, romantic hideaway or can be a luxury business or honeymoon retreat. Utilise as a clean and stylish base from which to explore the region, or simply rest and re-charge in your wonderful surroundings. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing