We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ara Roa Accommodation - Whangarei Heads
Nearby Hotels
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel Whangarei(Whangarei)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lupton Lodge(Whangarei)
$172
$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Six(Whangarei)(Great Value!)
$78
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Villa Del Rio(Whangarei)(Great Value!)
$87
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burgundy Rose Motel(Whangarei)(Great Value!)
$65
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cypress Court Motel(Whangarei)(Great Value!)
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge Bordeaux(Whangarei)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveler rating
67
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housecliff housefully equipped kitchensound systemoff the beaten trackocean beachbird lifeshort driveenjoyed our staypaulpropertyhilltopstudioaccommodationhostscattlecomfort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 70 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the Guest House for two nights - and wished it could have been for more.
This is one of the best appointed places we've ever stayed at, although self-catering all the added extras are provided - very thoughtful and tasteful - and the views are to die for!
A perfect place for some soothing and restful time-out, highly recommended.
We look forward to our next time there with eager anticipation.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araroa1, Owner at Ara Roa Accommodation - Whangarei Heads, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2011

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on our place. Pleased you had such a nice break. Hope to see you here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I am a kiwi who has travelled all over the world staying in some fabulous accommodation. Ara Roa is a truly unique experience. We loved it and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulinetree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araroa1, Owner at Ara Roa Accommodation - Whangarei Heads, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

It was a pleasure to meet you both and we hope to see you back up here sooner rather than later! I will contact you when the olive picking is happening which will be sometime around April/May. We'll book you in for the looong Italian Lunch :-) Kind regards, Susanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed in the studio at Ara Roa for 6 months whilst working in Whangarei. The apartment was beautifully presented with everything I needed for my stay. Everything was provided even for long term rental. Very comfortable furnishings with a double bed for myself and bunk beds for my friends to stay in when they visited. Waking up to the most spectacular views every morning was paradise! Sitting on the private balcony the ocean is visible to the right and to the left the beautiful countryside. I loved the peace and quiet of the country but was still able to reach Whangarei for work in only 30 minutes. There is an endless choice of activities in the area, my favourites being the short climb to the top of Mount Manaia (only 15 minutes away) and the walk down to Peach Cove beach (around 20 minutes away). Throughout my stay I also enjoyed many horse rides through the farmland close to the property and along the spectacular Kauri Mountain Beach (best Horse ride I have EVER been on!!). I was welcomed to Ara Roa and treated like one of the family throughout my stay enjoying many delicious meals with the Olsen family and their friends. I look forward to the day when I can return for another stay! Thoroughly recommend a visit for short or long term.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emorton1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araroa1, Owner at Ara Roa Accommodation - Whangarei Heads, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2011

Thank you for those positive words about our Studio, the Whangarei Heads area and your time at Ara Roa. We sure hope you will come back again soon and if you do, we will make sure to get you out for another great horse ride on that fantastic beach we just happen to have "in our backyard"!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed at the guest house at Ara Roa for 3 nights and used it as a base for diving at
Poor Knights Island.The 2 bedroom 1 bath house was well laid out with the bedrooms on opposite sides of the living area providing privacy if 2 couples were to stay there The bedrooms were of generous size with very comfortable beds and quality linens. The entire house was immaculate , not a speck of dirt anywhere! The house was tastefully decorated in a contemporary style and was well equipped. Wifi worked well and we appreciated the wonderful stereo system. The gorgeous spa like bathroom had a large tub with heated tile floors and a heated towel rack. The kitchen was very well equipped with a gas/electric stove and oven, expresso machine and anything else you would need to make a gourmet meal. What puts this house over the top is the spectacular panoramic views. We were really blown away by the views and almost didn't want to leave. If you are staying here you will want to stock up on groceries in Whangarei as it is a long drive down a windy road to Ara Roa but the drive is worth it! Be sure to get directions from the website as it can be alittle confusing. Keep in mind that there are stairs leading from the parking area to the house which could be a problem if one had trouble walking. I highly recommend this house. Rent it now! You will be in for a treat-the
views are to die for.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tpolisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

We waited over 18 years for this, it being the destination for our 25th wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed and in fact in exceeded our high expectations. We took the lazy weekend option at the Guest House. The food was delivered to our door and it was amazing. Better than any restaurant and not short on quantity. We had enough food for lunch and dinner the following day! Newspaper & hot croissants delivered for breakfast. And plenty of bacon & eggs in the fridge to cook up. The Guest House is beautifully appointed and perfect for couples (has a 2nd b/room & could sleep 5). Its massive sweeping views are mesmerizing. It is very private and the only sounds you can hear is the bird life. There are many little extras that help make your stay comfortable and special. Lots of food condiments, quality coffee, dishwasher, cleaning supplies,books, magazines, CDs,DVDs etc. The bath has a lovely glassed (private) outlook over bushland. BBQ on the decking. Garden & grounds well presented & maintained. A path was freshly mowed to a lookout viewpoint and there is also a short forest trail leading from behind the guest house. The owners are professional and friendly and certainly know how to treat their guests. A compendium full of information let us decide on which day walks we wanted to take. We could not recommend Ara Roa more highly. The highly respected Greenwood Guides give it a great wrap.
http://www.greenwoodguides.com/new-zealand/accommodation.aspx?page=55
Thankyou so much Susanne and Paul

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rahji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews