We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a cut above”

Whangarei Quarry Gardens
Ranked #1 of 55 things to do in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Whangarei Quarry Gardens is a subtropical oasis created by volunteers in the remnants of a former quarry in Northland, New Zealand. The Gardens are open to the public and feature subtropical gardens, native forest walks, waterfalls, streams, quarry ruins, tunnels, a scented Camellia collection, a plethora of NZ native and exotic plant species and so much more... The Gardens are a work in progress and have been created through the blood, sweat, tears and laughter of volunteers, supporting companies and other interest groups. Entry is by GOLD-COIN DONATION, with all proceeds used to purchase plants and equipment. Thanks!
Reviewed May 27, 2014

an amazing transformation from quarry to gardens; a great interlude on your travels.. great variety and some good photo opps...

Thank Trevor-TJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei_Gardens, Manager at Whangarei Quarry Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2014

Thank you for the positive review! Yes there are many wonderful photo opportunities at the Gardens, we hope to see you back again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 283 of 318 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

I loved to see the transformation from a quarry to those beautiful gardens. it really inspired me. that it is all done by a community of volunteers is even better. Highly recommend to visit.

Thank lina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei_Gardens, Manager at Whangarei Quarry Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2014

Thank you for the positive review! Whangarei Quarry Gardens is a work in progress and we are very proud of the results our volunteers have achieved so far :) We hope to see you back again soon

-WQG Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

My wife and I paid a visit here and we were really pleased that we did. The gardens are peaceful, full of colour & wildlife and make excellent use of the natural features of the old quarry site. We spent a good hour here and I would recommend it to any visitors.

Thank saltburn51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei_Gardens, Manager at Whangarei Quarry Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2014

Thank you for the positive review! The Gardens are a peaceful oasis indeed, and we are very proud of the efforts of our volunteers :) We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We happened upon these beautiful gardens quite by chance, and how lucky we were! Such a variety of plants in the most glorious of settings and maintained by a bunch of dedicated volunteers, with entry by donation. A gem with a surprise around every corner, well worth a visit.

Thank Charm790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei_Gardens, Manager at Whangarei Quarry Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2014

Thank you for the positive review and your donation to the cause :) The Gardens really are a hidden gem. We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

A pleasant way to while away a couple of hours in the tranquility of these gardens.I found it a bit steep in places but it didn;t detract from the beauty of the place.

Thank engset21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei_Gardens, Manager at Whangarei Quarry Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2014

Thank you for the positive review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Yes it is worth noting that some of our tracks are steep in places, although most of the gardens are found in the relatively flat valley-floor. All the best and we hope to see you back again soon! - WQG Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whangarei Quarry Gardens also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Whangarei Quarry Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing