We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
Nearby Hotels
Lupton Lodge(Whangarei)
$117
$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge Bordeaux(Whangarei)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Six(Whangarei)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveler rating
43
82
96
41
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
82
96
41
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor pooltown basinsuperior roomoverlooking the marinacomfortable hotelplenty of parkingfree wifienjoyable stayroom was largeno hesitationsky tvfamily roombit datedtea and coffeedouble bedspaloop
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 287 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Kingsgate Hotel in Whangarei sits just across the road from an inlet housing yachts, so it's a pretty setting with the bush covered hills right behind it. And an easy walk into the main shopping area of Whangarei. Dated decor, poor lighting and no bath but everything you need basics wise. Make sure you book a room away from the noisy main road.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Jensjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was a typical hotel room - a double and a single bed.

Bed was comfy and everything was clean and tidy. Given that a lot of people are staying here for business, I found that there could have been more space for working e.g. larger desk or separate table.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Saw this hotel while driving around, asked the price of the room, was told the price, we were happy, the room was ok, lighting was terrible, kept tripping out, towels were like hankies!!!next to pool and entrance, very very noisy from the people up stairs.
Went to book out and was told we owed another 5.00 for handling fee for our credit card !!!!!, you didnt tell us that one!!!!!!whats this handling fee!!!!!we just do it....Wont be back, as we were wandering what other handling fees are going to be accrued.
We didnt eat, we went to the water front for tea and breakfast, as not sure what other costs were going to be included.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula Maree D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had the best time staying here all thanks to the wonderful manager Mike who gave us a grat deal and a wonderful room overlooking the bay. The rate was NZ$165.00 and he let us have it for $135.00. It was the best room by far that we stayed in during our whole two week trip. Better by miles than the Stamford in Auckland which kids itself that it is 5 stars and is more expensive. Pool, gym, balcony bar and restaurant. Next time we will base ourselves here and fan out across Northland doing day trips which due to the size of Northland is very easy. Even the cheaper rooms at the rear of the hotels were large and luxurious.10/10 from us.

Room Tip: Try and get a front 2nd floor room overlooking Harbour. No lift .Back rooms are still tops.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foamcrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Having last visited the hotel in 1991, for our wedding reception when we lived in Whangarei, I thought it may have aged a lot and been quite tired. I was pleasantly surprised when I got to the room and found it very clean and tidy. It was very quiet the night we stayed, maybe due to it being ANZAC Day and not many business travellers. The service at front desk was great, my husband had checked in before I arrived then left to visit friends and I couldn't get hold of him when I needed to get to the room but was able to get a key after a little explaining.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supatrippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews