We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic addition to Whangarei”

Suk Jai Thai Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 135 Restaurants in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $26
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The only Thai restaurant in Whangarei which received the prestigious "Thai Select" Award from the Prime Minister of Thailand in March 2013 to certify and recognise Thai restaurants outside Thailand which serve authentic Thai cuisine of the highest standard.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Since the new owners arrived in September this has become the restaurant we eat at most. The food is delicious, drinks reasonably priced and the staff very friendly. The manager makes sure everything runs smoothly and goes out of his way to be helpful. If you want a quick meal at the end of the day if you tell them it will arrive in no time at all. The only problem is it has become so popular that most days of the week it pays to book to make sure there is a table free!

Thank TealMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charn T, Owner at Suk Jai Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

I just had an opportunity to visit tripadvisor.com two days ago after one of our customers told us that our restaurant is now #7 best restaurant in Whangarei on tripadvisor.com. This made me (and many of our other staffs) visit tripadvisor.com and read what our customers have to say.

I am very happy that your experience at our establishment has constantly been positive and I especially thank you to take the time to recommend our establishment on public review sites such as this. All our staffs certainly do their best to make customers happy, and although we feel honoured to receive such great comments, we still strive to deliver quality of food and service that is better. If there is anything you wish to suggest us to improve our service and product, please do not hesitate to make suggestion. Also, should there be an unfortunate incident upon any of your future visit where you feel that the service and food quality was not up to the consistent standard we deliver to you in the past, please let us know immediately so the matter can be looked into and rectified on the spot.

On behalf of all staffs I wish to let you know that your positive remarks to us on public sites like this mean much more to us than you can imagine. We sincerely thank you for your time, and please let us know who you are on your next visit so we would have an opportunity to thank you personally.

Kind Regards
Charn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

464 - 468 of 483 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

By chance came across this restaurant after getting directions from a fellow spectator at the T20 cricket match at the cobham oval. It has great atmosphere and the welcome was very eastern and warming. The menu had a wide selection of Thai food at very reasonable prices and items to suit all palates.

The portions were very good the taste was what our group expected and the presentation was superb.

If you are in the area go especially if you like Thai food you will not be disappointed.

We certainly will go again and sample the excellent cuisine.

Thank johnamason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charn T, Owner at Suk Jai Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

I just had an opportunity to visit tripadvisor.com two days ago after one of our customers told us that our restaurant is now #7 best restaurant in Whangarei on tripadvisor.com. This made me (and many of our other staffs) visit tripadvisor.com and read what our customers have to say.

I am very happy that your experience at our establishment has constantly been positive and I especially thank you to take the time to recommend our establishment on public review sites such as this. All our staffs certainly do their best to make customers happy, and although we feel honoured to receive such great comments, we still strive to deliver quality of food and service that is better. If there is anything you wish to suggest us to improve our service and product, please do not hesitate to make suggestion. Also, should there be an unfortunate incident upon any of your future visit where you feel that the service and food quality was not up to the consistent standard we deliver to you in the past, please let us know immediately so the matter can be looked into and rectified on the spot.

On behalf of all staffs I wish to let you know that your positive remarks to us on public sites like this mean much more to us than you can imagine. We sincerely thank you for your time, and please let us know who you are on your next visit so we would have an opportunity to thank you personally.

Kind Regards
Charn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were staying in Whangarei and stumbled upon this restaurant, saw that there were many patrons and knew this would be a good place to eat. After a 5-10 minute wait we were shown to a table . While we waited we were given a menu and a glass of water. The service was very attentive, the meals was very tasty, value for money and the staff friendly and constantly refilling water glasses and rice with your main meal if required. The man on the reception was enthusiastic and very switched on to the needs of his customers. Highly recommend .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The food is great, the staff are friendly, the decor is tasteful and appropriate to the culture. Very busy but you cant blame them for that. I love that you can see the kitchen AND it is clean. The only suggestion wold be to use the outdoor courtyard more, maybe as bar area and dining.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Angus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great Thai meal,our first visit. Will surely be coming back. Quick friendly service, meals really good. Over ordered and provided a doggy bag to take home. If you like Thai food this place is a must. Thanks team for a great meal, my daughter pick Suk Jai for her birthday dinner. We will return.

Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suk Jai Thai Restaurant also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Suk Jai Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing