We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We paid $70 for our cabin! And all I can say is it was worth it. Cleaner than clean, lots and lots of room to move, not crammed in like sardines. Comfortable bed, tv and even a fridge freezer.
The park is VERY clean and tidy and the ammenities were very good.
The staff very very polite and knew about the local area which was great because I didnt have a clue.
And if you want a nice peaceful nights sleep, this is the place. I didnt hear a sound all night, it was fantastic.

Room Tip: Even if its for 2 people, the family unit is awesome if you like alot of space.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhangareiTOP10, Owner at Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thanks for your fantastic feedback. It is much appreciated. We work hard to deliver a great product, and cleanliness is definitely a top priority for us. Our cabins are spacious, and with TV, fridge, kettle and toaster included, they offer a bit more than a regular standard cabin, and are certainly great value for money. Yes, we agree, our location is spectacular, as our property is surrounded by scenic NZ native forest, and has the backdrop of Mount Parihaka with its track to the summit (241 m) and riverside walks directly accessible from our Park. Tucked down a quiet side street less than 2 kms from the city centre, we are the only Holiday Park in Whangarei that is located away from a busy main road, and being a smaller Park just adds to our ambiance and peacefulness even more.

Cheers
The Team at Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 143 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in a cabin in the lovely parkland setting - hard to believe we were in the city. It was very clean and quiet with a friendly manager. The bed and pillows were comfy, communal showers ok, cooking area was clean and large. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebeccadiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhangareiTOP10, Owner at Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thanks so much for your feedback Rebecca. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We agree that we have a fabulous setting, and with park and scenic NZ native forest right on our boundary, it is hard to believe we are right in the city - an easy stroll of 1.7 kms to the heart of town. We are probably pretty unique in that. Being tucked down a quiet side street, rather than on a busy main road as the other options in Whangarei are, just adds to our peaceful setting and stunning location. We have friendliness and cleanliness as our TOP priorities, so we are thrilled to have measured up there too. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Cheers
The Team at Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed two days in December 2012. It had a great, open, bright clean feel to the whole place. It has been well maintained and looked after, and we met a good cross section of Kiwis and overseas tourists. I hope they continue to do good business.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markogilvienz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhangareiTOP10, Owner at Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thanks so much for your positve feedback, Mark. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. With cleanliness and friendliness as our top priorities, and our beautiful backdrop of native NZ forest right on our back doorstep, we aim to be a TOP Holiday Park in Northland. We agree that such a setting in the heart of the Whangarei city is pretty special. Hope you got time to explore our stunning coastline,which has been voted 2= in the world by National Goegraphic magazine, while you were here. Hope you get to Northland again some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We didn't arrive until late and left pretty early, so I'm not really sure what a fair rating is. They were great with arranging to leave our key for our late arrival and it was there with a map waiting on us. We stayed in a basic cabin which had two twin beds and then two little cubby holes that each had bunk beds in them. For only two of us, it was plenty big, but if you put 6 people in there to do anything other than sleep, it would have been very crowded. It was chilly out and we had a heater to keep us warm. All in all, the facilities were fine. Nothing spectacular, but clean and very functional. We stayed one night before heading to Poor Knights to dive. Location was great for this. I would stay there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhangareiTOP10, Owner at Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Hi Cindi
Thanks for your review. We hope you had a magical time diving out at the Poor Knights Islands Marine Reserve. It's a fabulous place, all right. Great that you had a comfortable stay in one of our Standard Cabins, were warm and cosy after your late arrival, and felt it was excellent value for money. We agree with you that we are ideally located, and are perfect as a base for exploring our fabulous coastline (rated 2nd equal in the world by National Geographic 2011), as well as for experiencing the surfing, kayaking, cycling and hiking options right on our doorstep. Next time you're up our way, you might like to upgrade to one of our Ensuite Units, only slightly more expensive and with their very own bathroom. They also have a mini-kitchen with tea / coffee / breakfast making facilities included.
Cheers
The Team at Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Special site located in a park-like setting within walking distance of town and a nature reserve. Stayed in one of their little chalets with special rates as I brought my own bedding. Clean and quiet, the only noise at night being the New Zealand Morepork hooting quietly in the forest nearby. Staff are friendly and good value for information on best Thai restaurants, etc...not to mention the friendly morning wave that sends you off on your day's adventures. Highly recommended and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhangareiTOP10, Owner at Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Hi Leslie
Thanks so much for your kind words about Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park. We are extremely proud to be in such a unique setting right next to our wonderful native forest reserve, tucked down a quiet side street, yet less than 2 kms from the city centre. We agree that the bird life here is wonderful, and in fact have a mural of three of our native birds painted on to a wall in our dining area, to show them off to our guests. I wonder if you got to visit the kiwis at Kiwi North, or the Native Bird Recovery Centre, both here in Whangarei, where injured native birds are looked after before being re-released into the wild. Cleanliness and friendliness are always our top priorities, so we're thrilled that we delivered on both counts there too.
Cheers
The Team at Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Good quality site with excellent facilities, well situated for visiting Whangarei and the beautiful surrounding area. Site is tranquil and restful. Stayed in simple chalet with separate cooking and washing facilities, reasonable price. Would use again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhangareiTOP10, Owner at Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thanks so much for your positive feedback. We too love the peaceful setting of our Holiday Park, tucked away down a quiet side street away from traffic noise, and right next to a glorious native bush scenic reserve. We pride ourselves on the high standards and quality of our units and facilities, and are delighted you agree. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Cheers
Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in January 2012. Our cabin was spacious and clean with a flatscreen TV. Although breakfasting was no problem, the cabin had no hotplates, microwave or cookware - including pans. We borrowed two pans from reception to use in the communal kitchen.

Whangarei is a smashing little city with everything you need. The coastal areas nearby are delightful with numerous scenic bays and beaches including the Whangarei Heads area east of the city.

We visited Kiwi North and the Whangarei Heritage Park just west of the city. Best to visit at weekends. We loved the old Clarke House - like a time capsule, giving a sense of how colonial New Zealand used to be. Less than an hour north is Waitangi, Russell and the Bay of Islands. This area is a must if you interested in discovering modern New Zealand's origins.

Room Tip: Check website first
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil_in_Sheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhangareiTOP10, Owner at Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Hello there
You obviously enjoyed our spacious Ensuite Unit, complete with deck, overlooking our native forest reserve. It's perfectly set up for breakfasting but, as it's an ensuite unit, does not include cooking facilities. We happily lend out equipment for use in our communal kitchen, or you may like to book one of our self-contained units or park motels next time, which all have cooking facilities. With friendliness and cleanliness our top priorities, it is superb to see that we met those expectations too. I agree that our region is fantastic to explore; from bush walks to beaches, to diving, snorkelling or fishing, art trails and craft houses, kiwis and lions, museums and history - the list goes on - and all within easy reach from our central location.
Wishing you happy and safe travels in the future.

Cheers
The Team at Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
2.0 mi away
Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers
1.6 mi away
Whangarei Central Holiday Park
4.7 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
142 reviews
1.8 mi away
Motel Villa Del Rio
Motel Villa Del Rio
#3 of 34 in Whangarei
81 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
#5 of 34 in Whangarei
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park

Address: 24 Mair Street | Kensington, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Whangarei
Price Range: $73 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, central, scenic setting in spacious surroundings, Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park offers Motels (Studio, 2 Bedroom, or 4 Bedroom), Self Contained Units (2 Bedroom), Ensuite Units, Superior Standard Cabins (with TV), Power/Tent Sites, FREE WiFi (100 - 250 MB per day), FREE BBQ, TV Lounge. Situated right next to stunning native forest reserve and park,with direct access to walking tracks, and located down a quiet street (the only holiday park in town away from busy roads), we are less than 2 kms from the city centre, and an easy 1 km walk from supermarkets and restaurants. Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park has excellent facilities and a top-rate reputation for cleanliness and friendliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing