We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee and food”
Review of Mokaba Cafe

Mokaba Cafe
Ranked #13 of 136 Restaurants in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Stunning location, delicious food & coffee, gorgeous cakes & pastries including gluten free, friendly service, licenced, free wifi, plenty of parking. Fully licensed.Delightful all day cafe overlooking the bustling Whangarei Town Basin where boats from all over the world are moored. Open 7 days from 8am - 5pm,fabulous food (including gluten free options) and delicious Chiasso coffee are served all day by friendly, welcoming staff. Zenbu hotspot wifi available - free download vouchers. After an exciting Mokaba experience there is a wide range of excellent boutique shops, artisans and craftsmen, museums, parks and a boardwalk along the side of the Hatea River.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stopped by for a morning Coffee and a bite to eat. Great little cafe and a good place to get some filling foods. Nice atmosphere and aesthetics.

Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Owner at Mokaba Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thank you for your great feedback - I'm delighted that you had a good time and we restored some of the balance in your view of a difficult day in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 219 of 260 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

After an early morning arrival at Auckland airport, a hire car problem, 2 hours to get a SIM card in Albany, ATM card not working in NZ, 3 hours behind our schedule driving to the Bay of Islands, stopping off for lunch at Mokaba was a good find. It was releasing, great food (chicken salad for the wife and all day brekkie for me), pleasant service, easy parking and so a great charge the batteries stop. We were tempted to drop in for brunch on the way back south to Tauranga because we enjoyed the experience so much but alas we had to put the miles behind us sorry.

Thank TuartHillTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Owner at Mokaba Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thank you for your response, I'm glad to see we restored some of the balance to a difficult day for you in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Great friendly service . Food very reasonably priced and the coffee is always good .Thanks Justin, Anna and staff

    • Service
Thank ValerieR-E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Owner at Mokaba Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Anna and I are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Since Justin and Anna took over Mokaba, if had got better and better, we have been coming to the Town Basin for several years and called into Mokaba several times, in the year and a half since Anna and Justin took over the improvements have been noticeable, although there was noting wrong previously it was just one of a few places we would eat, now here and the Riverside (also run by Anna and Justin) are the only places we go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Owner at Mokaba Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

We aim to please and hope you will spread the word and visit again soon. Cheers - Justin and Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Can't comment on anything but the cake and coffee but if it's anything to go by for the rest of it I will be returning :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bexen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Owner at Mokaba Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Hi Bexen - good to see you back at the Town Basin - thanks again - Whangarei - Love it here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mokaba Cafe also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Mokaba Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing