We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mokaba Cafe

Mokaba Cafe
Ranked #12 of 128 Restaurants in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $29
Cuisines: Cafe, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Stunning location, delicious food & coffee, gorgeous cakes & pastries including gluten free, friendly service, licenced, free wifi, plenty of parking. Fully licensed.Delightful all day cafe overlooking the bustling Whangarei Town Basin where boats from all over the world are moored. Open 7 days from 8am - 5pm,fabulous food (including gluten free options) and delicious Chiasso coffee are served all day by friendly, welcoming staff. Zenbu hotspot wifi available - free download vouchers. After an exciting Mokaba experience there is a wide range of excellent boutique shops, artisans and craftsmen, museums, parks and a boardwalk along the side of the Hatea River.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
113 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Average food (basic and nothing you wouldn't get anywhere else) but nice service and nice spot. On a sunny day you can sit outside overlooking the inlet.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jensjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Owner at Mokaba Cafe, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time out of your day and for your kind words. Cheers Anna, Justin and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    106
    27
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“No issues here...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stopped over for a quick lunch. The place was packed but we managed to find a seat and ordered the chicken ceasar and the angus beef burger. Considering they was was busy the food did arrive in a timely manner and the coffees we ordered actually came with the food - if this is by design then well done... most lunch/coffee place serve you at their convenience not the other way around.
Food was lovely, no complains there. Good coffee too...

Well deserved Trip Advisor rating in my opinion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AcurAnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Owner at Mokaba Cafe, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi AcurAnz

Thanks for the feedback - it's great to hear that we nailed it while busy and glad you loved the food and service. Thank you very much for posting a couple of photos for us too. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A relaxing, rejuvenating break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Thanks TripAdvisor reviewers! We wouldn't have gone to the town basin but the reviews sounded like us, and it was great, satisfying all our needs. And there's the added bonus of the adjoining artists' collective. Check the community tapestry/weaving project in the collective, and do a few rows or more if you feel like it. I'm going to check progress on my next reviving stopover.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daviestoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Owner at Mokaba Cafe, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hi Daviestoo - isn't the tapestry great and you'll be able to say you were part of it - good for you! Thanks also for dropping in to Mokaba and taking the time to review us. We appreciate it. Regards Justin and Anna and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You have to try this one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Exellent food and service, been there a few time and never fails. The best place to bring your family and friends.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunshine110158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Mokaba Cafe, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
That's the kind of comment that warms the cockles of my heart - great to hear you had a fabulous time and we look forward to seeing you again the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“For locals and visitors alike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Friendly service, great food and good location. Good coffee here and great service. We visited shortly before closing time but the staff were happy to serve us and there was no pressure to drink up and leave . Worth a visit!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Owner at Mokaba Cafe, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed the later opening now till 5pm daily, everywhere else seems to close at 2.30pm so we stay open. Thanks for taking the time to drop in and comment also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mokaba Cafe also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Mokaba Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing